New England Clam Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
turned out very well. the kids ate it all (rare for them). I really liked this version. I added two filets of thin white fish (cubed) to it to make it more of a seafood chowder. I really like this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Not having made clam chowder before, I was a little nervous about making this. However, it turned out amazingly. Brought it to an event, and now everyone who was there makes it at home, as well. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I was very skeptical when my fiance (who is from New Hampshire) found this recipe and wanted to try it. I never thought we would find anything like what he used to get back home. We both thought it was the BEST clam chowder we had every had! His only complaint was that he is used to thicker chowder but that is an easy adjustment. I can see how adding a few things might make this an even better recipe than it already is, but for the first try we made it as is. Thanks for sharing and giving my future hubby a taste of home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I have used this recipe a couple of times with a few changes. 1. I am not a fan of Bacon so use Salt Pork makes a difference in the taste in my opinion 2. Instead of Water I use Clam Broth Cup for Cup I think it gives the finished product much more flavor. 3. I also use less onion and I use a food processor. 4. I also use a couple of bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
It was perfect! The only change I made was I used 1 can of minced clams and 1 can of whole baby clams. I used half of the liquid from the two cans. It was full of flavor and clams
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
My first time making this. My 10 year old loves Clam Chowder. She gave me a 8 on it. I will take it. I am 61 and just started to try cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Way too thick for our liking. Not alot of flavour. Made as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hodgson668

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Not very thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
My husband says the best clam chowder he has ever ate. This is a keeper. I used clam juice instead of water and used heavy cream instead of half and half. It was awesome. Everything else was perfect. I always use heavy cream when making a chowder or cream soup. No calorie counting here, but love the richness it addes to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Luther, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I made a rue as suggested and also mashed some of the potatoes that I cooked separately. This soup is awesome ...I cant wait till lunchtime so I can eat it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States