New England Clam Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
i grew up on new england food and seafood was a mainstay at or house on the coast of the atlantic.this is almost exactly the same recipe my mother used,except she usd whole shucked clams.we would go dig up a pail[10qt]of clams fresh from the clam beds,wash them in the ocean surf to maintain the fresh flavors then shuck them into a collander over a bowl to collect all the juice cutting back on th amount of water needed,also she brought out all the flavors by using evapor-ated milk,served with big round common crackers.i'm 82 and still like my chowders the old fashioned way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Great recipe for easy yummy chowder. I used flour to thicken the soup and made sure to dice the potatoes small so they cooked faster. Really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I too used clam juice in place of the water. I also doubled the butter, this is not a dish for dieters. It was amazing, the best I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Followed the ingredients listed exactly and took the advice from Texas2Step for cooking potatoes and adding more clam flavor. My husband and I loved this soup! This was my first experience making clam chowder, it had always intimidated me before but this was very simple and DEEEELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This was a hit with my fiance who adores clam chowder! I used bacon bits instead of slices of bacon diced. I also used suggestions of (1 tsp. of each) oregano and minced garlic (sauted with the onions in olive oil). In addition I also used the suggestion to thicken the soup with 2 tbsp. of flour mixed thoroughly with the clam juice and USED all of the clam juice with the cans, not partial. These helpful hints I used that made it great: Bring to boil the potatoes and such and cook COVERED for 20 MINUTES until potatoes are tender. AND after putting in the clams and clam liquid with flour allowed it to cook for 5 minutes to BOIL. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
My first attempt at making New England Clam chowder left empty bowls and happy tummys behind. I did make some changes to this, but for the most part it was quite a big hit. I'm quite a fan of heat. Added jalepeno sauce and a bit of sriracha to the bacon and onions. I also covered the potatoes while they cooked, only used 3/4 cups of water and 1/2 cup of vegetable broth. Used 3 cans of clams and poured one can if clam juice Ito the soup. I also used one tbsp of flour to thicken the soup After the cream was added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily A. Schuler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
By far, the best clam chowder ever. I make a few alterations to suit our tastes... I add a few more slices of bacon(cuz who doesn't like more bacon?), more clams & I add a slurry of cornstarch & water to thicken it slightly. Soooooooo goooooooood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I tried this recipe. I loved it! And that was a real big deal for me because I have never liked clam chowder. I would not eat a clam. My husband loves clam chowder. So I looked for a recipe so that I could make it for him. I don't really like to buy it in the can. I followed the recipe to the letter. It came out perfectly! It was so delicious! I am now a clam chowder lover. Yup! Wonderful! Try it for yourself. You will love it. Thank you Debbie2. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by duboo
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I really liked this, except that I want more clam flavor. I had used about 50% more clams than the recipe called for and 100% of the juice. I started out with half the juice, as the recipe called for, and it tasted more like potato soup, so I added the rest of the juice, which helped a lot, but left the chowder not as thick as I would like. I should have probably mixed corn starch in with the juice and then used heavy cream instead of half and half, but 2 cups instead of 3. I think that would have given me what I wanted. The other option would be to add in some clam base. I think this is a great base recipe and will use it as a guide the next time I make this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This was a very good recipe. I made a few changes to take it to 5 stars. I doubled the bacon and added 3 diced celery ribs. I added about 1/4 cup fresh minced parsley and 2 garlic cloves. I drained the clam juice into a measuring cup and had 2 cups of liquid. I substituted this for the amount of water in the recipe. I used lactose free half and half to the amount of 4 cups. (I added 3 and held back 1 cup) I used the butter to make a roux with flour (about 4 tablespoons)in a saute' pan. I added that extra cup of cream and let it cook about 30 seconds. I blended this into the soup and it thickened up perfectly. I also added a few shakes of red wine vinegar. We really did enjoy the soup and it was not hard to put together at all. Will definitely be making this again with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States