New England Clam Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I too found this recipe to be too watery but good. I tried it again useing less milk added more potatoes and 2 cans of mushrooms and some powdered garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: West Plains, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
The basic was really yummy but we added less potatoes, more bacon, garlic, mushrooms, celery, red pepper and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
this recipe is a great base. this was my first try at clam chowder and I would omit water,and replace with clam juice. I had to thicken. I used cornstarch instead of flour. all in all the chowder was bland.but not to say it can be improved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orange, Florida, USA
Living In: Lake Wales, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This soup is great! The whole family loved it. I had to thicken it up by taking out a small amount of liquid & whisking in some flour . Then added this " slurry" back in the soup. The result was Perfection!! I will be making this again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I did what Texas2step added to the original recipe and I pretty much nailed it. AND, I too am a New England Clam Chowder snob. It was lovely. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Great base recipe! The only changes I made was using chicken broth instead of water and instead of 3 cups of half and half I used 2 and 1 cup of heavy cream. I also added 3 cans of chopped clams including the juice. Before adding in the cream I tossed a couple spoonfuls of flour into the potatoes and broth after the potatoes were tender and whisked it together to thicken the soup a bit. It came out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I loved this recipe but changed and added a few things. First I used veggie broth instead of water. I like extra bacon so I used 6 slices. I also threw in 1.5 cups of finely chopped celery. A healthy sprinkle of dried Thyme, Parsley, and a bay leaf. I also minced some fresh garlic (2 cloves) and added that when cooking the onion. Other than that I stuck to the recipe and it was delightful. My boyfriend ate three bowls of it and said it was a keeper for our dinner rotation. PS shopper tip: I used chopped canned clams because they sell them cheap at Costo. I just used my food processor to make them minced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I view many clam chowder recipes. including this one. My grandmother ran rooming homes in Portland, Maine and clam chowder was one of her listed meals. While I have tried many parts of clam chowder ingredients I have some favorites. Salt pork, fat removed and fried to well done cannot be substituted. Clam broth should be the only liquid for cooking. I use large amounts of onion but cooked to blend well. The chowder must have LOTS of clams and potatoes. While I love cream, I lighten with regular milk and add dehydrated potatoes to thicken a little. I am still trying to find the "secret" ingredient that won the California clam chowder cook off using a seafood enhancement as her winner. In any event, I just made a batch and thinking about what I will do with the next. Tom Brackett
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
awesome reccipe. The only thing I did different is to make the onion into liquid for the people who like the flavor but not the texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States