New England Clam Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I made this the other night and the whole family loved it! I used 1 cup clam juice and 1/2 cup water when it came time to cook the potatoes and my husband thickened it some with corn starch in the end. I'm not very good at making any kind of soup but this ended up being the best by far the best tasting NE Clam Chowder I ever had! I will be making this again when the weather starts getting colder in VT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I LOVE this recipe but I changed it slightly. -I added fresh parsley at the end.(About 5 minutes before serving) -Doubled the onion and bacon. -I use minced AND chopped clams. -I add extra potatoes. -I use a homemade seafood stock instead of the water, it adds alot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I can't give full stars only because I had to change it up. Like all reviewers said it was too watery with half and half so I opted for 1.5 C heavy and 1.5 C half. I also added minced garlic to the onion and bacon. After all the ingredients were cooked down I lightly mashed the cubes of the chowder to thicken it more. Overall the chowder yielded great results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This is far superior to any canned clam chowder I've ever tried. It's well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vpo63foodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Tasty but I added more clam juice. Does not get thick at all. Will not make again. I will give it 3 stars just for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hunlock Creek, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Awesome recipe, I use the juice from both cans of clams and only half of the cream called for in the recipe and substitute the other half with 2% milk...just to cut calories and fat a bit. A big hit in our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
My family loved it even my 2 yr Old couldn't get enough of it and she doesn't eat anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I did Like the recipe But i also did as a few others...I cooked the chopped onions and diced bacon in a few tablespoons of melted butter, then added a couple of tablespoons of flour thus creating a roux. Otherwise, I followed the recipe, but omitted water and substituted more clam juice instead, doubled the potatoes. After the potatoes were cooked through in the clam juice, I reduced the heat to a low simmer, then I added twice the amount of clams (I used 1 8 0z can of minced clams and 28 once baby whole) (servings for 12) Also I added 3/4 cup of diced Portobella mushrooms.The mushrooms were added when potatoes were almost done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I too found this recipe to be too watery but good. I tried it again useing less milk added more potatoes and 2 cans of mushrooms and some powdered garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: West Plains, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
The basic was really yummy but we added less potatoes, more bacon, garlic, mushrooms, celery, red pepper and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States