New England Clam Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Very good, I did a few shakes of Old Bay seasoning and a shake of celery salt. My husband loved it, said it was even better heated up the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
My husband loved clam chowder and I made this for father's day and he just loved it! Even my 7 and 2 year olds thought it was delicious. I cooked the bacon, set them aside added the onions and after 5 min I added 2 table spoons of corn starch. Used clam juice instead of water - 2 cups; covered the potatoes and used 1 1/4 cup of table cream. Cut the bacon into small pieces and sprinkled on top of the chowder in the bowls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I made this the other night and the whole family loved it! I used 1 cup clam juice and 1/2 cup water when it came time to cook the potatoes and my husband thickened it some with corn starch in the end. I'm not very good at making any kind of soup but this ended up being the best by far the best tasting NE Clam Chowder I ever had! I will be making this again when the weather starts getting colder in VT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I LOVE this recipe but I changed it slightly. -I added fresh parsley at the end.(About 5 minutes before serving) -Doubled the onion and bacon. -I use minced AND chopped clams. -I add extra potatoes. -I use a homemade seafood stock instead of the water, it adds alot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I can't give full stars only because I had to change it up. Like all reviewers said it was too watery with half and half so I opted for 1.5 C heavy and 1.5 C half. I also added minced garlic to the onion and bacon. After all the ingredients were cooked down I lightly mashed the cubes of the chowder to thicken it more. Overall the chowder yielded great results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This is far superior to any canned clam chowder I've ever tried. It's well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vpo63foodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Tasty but I added more clam juice. Does not get thick at all. Will not make again. I will give it 3 stars just for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hunlock Creek, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Awesome recipe, I use the juice from both cans of clams and only half of the cream called for in the recipe and substitute the other half with 2% milk...just to cut calories and fat a bit. A big hit in our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
My family loved it even my 2 yr Old couldn't get enough of it and she doesn't eat anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I did Like the recipe But i also did as a few others...I cooked the chopped onions and diced bacon in a few tablespoons of melted butter, then added a couple of tablespoons of flour thus creating a roux. Otherwise, I followed the recipe, but omitted water and substituted more clam juice instead, doubled the potatoes. After the potatoes were cooked through in the clam juice, I reduced the heat to a low simmer, then I added twice the amount of clams (I used 1 8 0z can of minced clams and 28 once baby whole) (servings for 12) Also I added 3/4 cup of diced Portobella mushrooms.The mushrooms were added when potatoes were almost done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States