New England Clam Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I tried this recipe last winter, it was so good my family has proclaimed it our new family favorite on winter nights served with garlic sourdough bread. Here's to warm comfort food for the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I've been making this for a few years now. I did make some modifications. I use 2 linguica instead of bacon, 2 cups half-and-half and 1/2 cup heavy cream, 8oz cream cheese, clam juice in place of water. Then sometimes I use this and then make it into a seafood chowder with scallops, bay shrimp, canned crab meat, and mussels. The seafood chowder is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shena Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I wouldn't really call it hearty. This was my second time with this recipe but this time I changed it up a bit with celery, cornstarch, clam juice instead of water and extra clams and bacon. I also used all of the juice from the 3 16oz cans of clams. This is a good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Fabulous! I added chopped celery, including the leafy part and some fresh thyme. Also, next time I will cut back on the potatoes a bit. The four cups seemed a bit much. Overall, fantastic tasting chowder. The broth has perfect consistency. It's creamy without being too heavy. I added a bit of extra bacon as well. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I am actually a bit amazed by the negative reviews because I followed the directions to the T and my family and myself are stuffed and pleased! This was my 1st time ever making clam chowder and I was hoping it stood up to my mom's from when I was little and I have no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roseanne Perry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Followed this recipe to the "T". Lots of comments about the potatoes not being done, but I found they were done perfectly (chopped to 1cm cubes). I did boil the potatoes in fish stock instead of just plain water. The potatoes absorbed much of the water and so constant stirring was required for the last few minutes. Everything else was exactly as the recipe indicated. I'll definitely be making this one again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Very good, I did a few shakes of Old Bay seasoning and a shake of celery salt. My husband loved it, said it was even better heated up the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
My husband loved clam chowder and I made this for father's day and he just loved it! Even my 7 and 2 year olds thought it was delicious. I cooked the bacon, set them aside added the onions and after 5 min I added 2 table spoons of corn starch. Used clam juice instead of water - 2 cups; covered the potatoes and used 1 1/4 cup of table cream. Cut the bacon into small pieces and sprinkled on top of the chowder in the bowls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I made this the other night and the whole family loved it! I used 1 cup clam juice and 1/2 cup water when it came time to cook the potatoes and my husband thickened it some with corn starch in the end. I'm not very good at making any kind of soup but this ended up being the best by far the best tasting NE Clam Chowder I ever had! I will be making this again when the weather starts getting colder in VT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States