New England Clam Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
It's a fantastic recipe. As other reviewers suggested, I cooked potato separately until ready and added flour to the soup to thicken. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Best New England Clam Chowder I have had EVER.....MOVE OVER CANNED STUFF, this recipes is easy and economical. I did not have half and half on hand so I substituted 1 cup of heavy cream and 2 cups of milk still came out great, I also like my soup thicker so I added a teaspoon of corn starch to the milk to thicken it and I used 16 OZ of fresh chopped clams in its own liquid from the fresh fish section in my supermarket and poured the entire liquid in it was amazing. Great flavor of bacon, clams and the sweetness of the caramelized onions, this has become a family favored soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bari, Puglia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I just made this soup and I give it 5 stars for being very tasty along with a simple amount of ingredients. I did make the roux separate with butter so it has a buttery flavor. Can't wait to go eat some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Antale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Very Watery, I suggest following the most helpful recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nuevo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I am not crazy about clam chowder, but my husband loves it. Made it for him and he went back for seconds and finished the left overs the following day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena W.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Thin...needs less water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I made the soup using the suggested clam juice instead of water, but was still disappointed it is pretty bland. I will look for a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This works out to be more of a clam soup with a cream base. This doesn't have the New England Chowdah' thickness that I/we were looking for but still very tasty and would maybe make a couple changes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This is the first time making chowder and we really enjoyed this recipe. I parboiled the potatoes before I peeled and cubed. They were perfect.Otherwise I prepared exactly as the recipe.It is company worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I used small creamer potatoes and boiled them for the 15 minutes. Added the butter and boiled for 2 minutes. Added the clam juice and clams and boiled 3 minutes. Then added the half and half and let sit on medium -low for 10 minutes. This gave time for potatoes to cook and get the clam taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose St Louis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 405) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States