New England Clam Chowder I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Fabulous! I added chopped celery, including the leafy part and some fresh thyme. Also, next time I will cut back on the potatoes a bit. The four cups seemed a bit much. Overall, fantastic tasting chowder. The broth has perfect consistency. It's creamy without being too heavy. I added a bit of extra bacon as well. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I am actually a bit amazed by the negative reviews because I followed the directions to the T and my family and myself are stuffed and pleased! This was my 1st time ever making clam chowder and I was hoping it stood up to my mom's from when I was little and I have no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roseanne Perry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Followed this recipe to the "T". Lots of comments about the potatoes not being done, but I found they were done perfectly (chopped to 1cm cubes). I did boil the potatoes in fish stock instead of just plain water. The potatoes absorbed much of the water and so constant stirring was required for the last few minutes. Everything else was exactly as the recipe indicated. I'll definitely be making this one again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Very good, I did a few shakes of Old Bay seasoning and a shake of celery salt. My husband loved it, said it was even better heated up the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
My husband loved clam chowder and I made this for father's day and he just loved it! Even my 7 and 2 year olds thought it was delicious. I cooked the bacon, set them aside added the onions and after 5 min I added 2 table spoons of corn starch. Used clam juice instead of water - 2 cups; covered the potatoes and used 1 1/4 cup of table cream. Cut the bacon into small pieces and sprinkled on top of the chowder in the bowls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I made this the other night and the whole family loved it! I used 1 cup clam juice and 1/2 cup water when it came time to cook the potatoes and my husband thickened it some with corn starch in the end. I'm not very good at making any kind of soup but this ended up being the best by far the best tasting NE Clam Chowder I ever had! I will be making this again when the weather starts getting colder in VT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I LOVE this recipe but I changed it slightly. -I added fresh parsley at the end.(About 5 minutes before serving) -Doubled the onion and bacon. -I use minced AND chopped clams. -I add extra potatoes. -I use a homemade seafood stock instead of the water, it adds alot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I can't give full stars only because I had to change it up. Like all reviewers said it was too watery with half and half so I opted for 1.5 C heavy and 1.5 C half. I also added minced garlic to the onion and bacon. After all the ingredients were cooked down I lightly mashed the cubes of the chowder to thicken it more. Overall the chowder yielded great results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This is far superior to any canned clam chowder I've ever tried. It's well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vpo63foodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States