New England Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Clover
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This is a very good dip, bean salad, sandwich. Too much dressing though. I usually half the dressing ingredients, only 1 Tbsp of relish, and add extra beans. This is tasty in a pita, or sandwich roll. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I love this bean dip that was always a popular appetizer served with crackers here on the North Shore of Massachusetts. Beans are good for you too, right? I am going to make some right now! Thanks JOJO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Thank you for the recipe! Its delicious and easy to make. I did not grow up eating this dish so I found it easy to modify because I didn't have any particular taste expectation. I like to chill the recipe but usually end up eating half of it before it gets in the fridge! Thanks again for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Absolutely Delicious! My family just couldn't get enough of it! I think next I might substitute the mayo with a low-curd cottage cheese and yogurt combo to take away a lot of the fat and calories. You probably won't even be able to tell the difference with all of the spices. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Love it. Just like you get at the local restaurants. I prefer mine with less relish but overall this is my go-to bean dip recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Trelfa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salisbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I was really disappointed by this recipe, considering it was so highly rated. I found the onion was overpowering, even though I used a sweet onion. I cut the relish in half, and it was still too much, the mayo made it too rich, and it was bland. I added some sour cream to reduce the richness and also added some chili powder and tabasco sauce to give it some more flavour. Also, the recipe did not say to make in the processor, so initially the beans were whole, but obviously that doesn't make much of a dip. After all my changes, it is edible, but I still wouldn't make it again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Made it this weekend! It was awesome i would suggest making it a day before eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hdriscoll31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I enjoyed this and thought it was different. Made exactly as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
We're from Ipswich Mass and this is as good as the Hart House Bean Dip - or Bells Market Bean Dip - which turned into Star Market. Eat this with Triscuits and it's a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I have made this a number of times and I love it. It's so simple. Followed the recipe exactly and it came out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Saint Paddy's Dill Dip

A colorful, creamy dip that’s perfect for celebrating St. Patrick's Day.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States