New Duchess Spice Cake with Maple Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Looks good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This review is only for the FROSTING from this recipe: love, love, loved the frosting. I used it to frost 'Nutmeg Feather Cake' from AR. Creamy texture that held up well with great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
'Would've bet my life I reviewed this ten years ago - literally. 'Made it for my birthday, one of those "milestone" brthdays. :/ It is BEYOND FABULOUS! Rarely do I not change anything in a recipe - sometimes on purpose, sometimes not - anyway, no changes & it is GREAT! It is. 'Found my notes: Surprisingly for this girl who always halves the nutmeg in anything, 3/4t isn't too much. Also increased maple to 1 1/4t & added 1/4t vanilla. Wrote it, meaning the frosting, was "a little greasy, just a little "on my paper, too. 'Still hard to believe the first time I made this was ten years ago. Sooo, I don't follow the directions. I don't think a buttermilk cake should be a onebowl wonder. I cream the shortening & sugar; add eggs 1@a time; 1t vanilla. Alternate dry ingredients mixed with flour & buttermilk. Don't overbeat or it'll be dry. No extra beating at the end either. Run a knife through the batter once in the pan to reduce the bubbles - smoother top. 'Don't remember if I set the timer for 20 or 25, but I know it wasn't more. Using 2 9" pans, greased & floured. Beautiful cake. 'Waiting for it to cool to remove & frost with that maple buttercream! Happy Birthday, E! SIXTEEN! :) Oh, you'll need all that frosting for a two layer cake. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Having read many reviews that this cake was dry, I tweaked it a bit. Used 1/2 c unsalted butter, cut the white sugar to 1/2 cup, creamed the butter and sugars together first, and after adding the eggs I added a cup of applesauce (half unsweetened plain, half cinnamon). I didn't have buttermilk so I used 1 c milk with 1 tbsp lemon juice. Doubled the spices. Baked for 35 min in a 9x13 glass pan and it was PERFECT. For the frosting, I also took reviewer recommendations and cut it to half. Used 1/2 c butter, 2 c powdered sugar total, 1 tbsp plus 1/2 tsp of milk, and 1 tsp maple flavoring. I also added 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the frosting and it was delicious. To everyone complaining about a dry, crumbly cake, ADD APPLESAUCE! And don't over-mix! Still moist and delicious the second day, though there isn't much of it left...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This recipe was delicious! I made it for a friends birthday party and it got great reviews. Works great as cupcakes :) The only change I made was using maple syrup instead of extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I had trouble with the cake sticking to the bottom of the pan, use parchment paper, I had altered it to be vegan, so not completely a fair test of this recipe. I sort of pushed it together and used the excellent frosting with vegan butter. I also added freshly grated ginger and a touch of molasses and it was very tasty, just a mess to look at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I just baked this cake. It has a delicious flavor,but mine didn't cook in the middle. I tested it with a toothpick, which came out clean, but it was not nearly cooked in the middle. We will eat the parts around the middle like coffeecake, since it is so good. Next time I will use 3 pans as suggested in other reviews & I think it'll do nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I loved this recipe. I am 14 and love to cook. I didn't couldn't find maple flovoring so I used rum frosting. It was so amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AthenaZandrite
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I have made this three times for my dad's birthday now and each time everyone loves it. I had family who usually refuse to eat cake asking me to make this for their birthdays now. I usually double the spices because my dad really likes things full of flavor. I've also done a regular butter cream frosting with the spices added in and it also tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AthenaZandrite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I thought the spice was a bit on the heavy side. My daughter liked the amount of spice but didn't like the texture....so wasn't a keeper for either of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States