New Duchess Spice Cake with Maple Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This is a great recipe; just the right level of spiciness, and simple to mix up. I used store bought frosting (the boyfriend insists), and it's delicious. It's even better the second day, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Flavorful and moist! My husband loved it. I used cream cheese in the frosting and whipped it light. I am so thrilled with this recipe. Perfect for fall. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
This is one of the best cakes I've EVER HAD! Moist, delish and a beautiful presentation! I made a 2 layered.... My family can't quit eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
I think I baked my cake for a little too long because it came out a little dry. I thought the frosting was a bit too greasy tasting but everyone that tried absolutly loved it and commented on the frosting and how good they thought it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatarat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paragonah, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
This recipe turned out great. The husband and 1 1/2 yr. old loved every bite. Thank You and the frosting was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
This was an absolutely great cake. Very tender, light, tasty, and not too spicy. The maple frosting, which I thought would be too much on top of a spice cake, was perfect. Kudos to Stephanie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
This recipe was very good. I loved the camparison with the spice and maple. I made this in June because my Dad loves spice, but I think this will be a Christmas recipe! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
This cake was delicious. The maple frosting was a big hit as well. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
This is very moist and delicious. Have made several times. BIG hit with the High School football team. Will continue to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
The frosting was superb! I added an extra 1/2 tsp. maple flavoring to the frosting since the flavor was too subtle. The cake, however, was very dry. I'll keep the frosting recipe and search for another spice cake recipe to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States