New Duchess Spice Cake with Maple Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
A wonderful spice cake recipe. I made it just as the recipe says and it turned out great (except the cakes did collapse). The cake has wonderful flavor and the frosting was a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
everyone in my family really enjoyed this cake.(especially my 3 yr. old) i made this recipe exactly and baked it in 9 in. pans which only took about 25 mins. instead of the suggested 30 -35. i also toasted and chopped some pecans and put them on the top and sides, DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
Spice cake and carrot cake are tied as my favorite. I loved this recipe, but made a couple of healthy changes. I used Splenda in place of the white sugar, olive oil in place of shortening, and added a cup of applesauce for moisture. I did not substitude anything in the frosting (best part), but cut it in half and had enough. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I baked mine in a 9 x 13 pan for 35 minutes. This cake has a terrific taste, but it's dry, like some other reviewers have said (and note that's without overbaking it). I think another 1/2 c. of buttermilk might help, but I'm not sure it the cake would rise correctly. Anyway, the frosting is really yummy. While making just half the frosting for a 9 x 13 is cutting it thin, it can certainly be done if you add a few tablespoons of milk, no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
This is easily one of the best cakes I have ever eaten. Not only that, but it was one of the easiest. I completely recommend to anyone who enjoys spice cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
this is a delicious cake and frosting recipe. i will make more of these. frosting is outstanding. one of the best recipes i have made.thanksStephanie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
This cake tasted wonderful. We couldn't get enough of it!! However, it doesn't need to be baked for 45 minutes. I took mine out after 40, and the bottom was almost black. It did make a bit too much frosting too, but I think it would have been wonderful layered. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!! This is definetely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
oh my goodness, this was the best spicce cake i have ever tasted (homemade that is)....i was very suprise at how moist it was...this cake was gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANDIGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sharon Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This cake is quite dry. I wish I could figure out a way to make it moister. Yet it had a nice flavor. I made half the frosting and it barely was enough to frost the cake in a 9x13 pan. I won't make this cake again though because it was so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
This cake was delicious but there are a few things I would change for next time. First of all I would cut the frosting in half. I baked it in a 13x9 pan and there was literally about an inch of frosting. Also, 45 minutes is a little too long to bake it in a 13x9. When I took it out it was just starting to get black and hard aroung the edges. One last thing...next time I might add some raisins or nuts to the batter. Thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEVINCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rota, Andalucia, Spain
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States