New Duchess Spice Cake with Maple Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
This is the most wonderfully flavored, moist spice cake yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Warren, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This was good, but I did have to modify it. Like others, my cake was done in 25 minutes, and I was very thankful for the reviews or I might have walked away from the oven and ended up with a burnt cake! I split the batter into two nine inch rounds, so that may have had something to do with it. Otherwise the recipe was great, tasted just like the spice cake I remember. The spice ratio was PERFECT but overall not quite strong enough for me, so I would probably increase the spices by half next time, just to my own preference. I didn't have any maple extract so I tried substituting some of the sugar in the frosting for real maple syrup. The texture was fine but the maple flavor was hardly noticeable--just a warning for anyone else who might try the same thing ;0). Otherwise it was great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MixieArmadillo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I didn't have cloves, so I used Allspice, and probably used too much. I believe this was a big mistake. The cake was, indeed, dry. I have a gas oven, and after 25 minutes, the cake was too done on the outside, but definitely not done on the inside. The icing was okay, but I would have liked a more buttery flavor. For some reason, I couldn't stand the smell of the icing when I was mixing it! I found this to be a strange cake and threw it out after having a small piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHER8470

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I have found another winner!! Perfect is all I can say!! This is my second request to make this cake for a birthday today!! Awesome and don't change a thing if you love maple and love spice cake!! Beautiful together!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I made this recipe over the holidays and everyone LOVED IT! It came out very tasty and moist. I did make one substitution on the icing and use some rum & brandy flavouring instead which really complemented the cake. It was delicious! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
Perfect recipe! I made two of them becuase everyone love it so much. I baked one of them for 10 minutes less than recommended. It was much moister, and we preferred it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I doubled all of the spices, and used butter instead of shortening. It was delicious! Moist and dense, and I got raves. I also made a blackberry filling, and used Cream Cheese II frosting found on this website. This will definitely be my spice cake recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
I have had this recipe in my recipe box since 2003 and have made it about a dozen times for everyone I know and it comes out fantastic everytime! Never had a problem with dryness. Thanks Stephanie for a wonderful recipe and getting me to make all my cakes from stratch from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Harden Campbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This was a good recipe that translated well to cupcakes. The full recipe made about 18 regular-sized cupcakes, and LOTS of frosting. I used less than half of it. The frosting was the best part, though it was slightly greasy and shortening-y. I would make it again, but with a different frosting with maple added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States