New Duchess Spice Cake with Maple Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
WAY too much frosting! But the cake was excellent!! I will be making another cake today to use up the other half of the frosting from the first batch. Next time I will cut the frosting measurements in half. I also had to alter the cook time to 50 minutes (9x9 spring form pan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THECHEF3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
A wonderful spice cake recipe. I made it just as the recipe says and it turned out great (except the cakes did collapse). The cake has wonderful flavor and the frosting was a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
everyone in my family really enjoyed this cake.(especially my 3 yr. old) i made this recipe exactly and baked it in 9 in. pans which only took about 25 mins. instead of the suggested 30 -35. i also toasted and chopped some pecans and put them on the top and sides, DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
Spice cake and carrot cake are tied as my favorite. I loved this recipe, but made a couple of healthy changes. I used Splenda in place of the white sugar, olive oil in place of shortening, and added a cup of applesauce for moisture. I did not substitude anything in the frosting (best part), but cut it in half and had enough. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I baked mine in a 9 x 13 pan for 35 minutes. This cake has a terrific taste, but it's dry, like some other reviewers have said (and note that's without overbaking it). I think another 1/2 c. of buttermilk might help, but I'm not sure it the cake would rise correctly. Anyway, the frosting is really yummy. While making just half the frosting for a 9 x 13 is cutting it thin, it can certainly be done if you add a few tablespoons of milk, no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
This is easily one of the best cakes I have ever eaten. Not only that, but it was one of the easiest. I completely recommend to anyone who enjoys spice cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
this is a delicious cake and frosting recipe. i will make more of these. frosting is outstanding. one of the best recipes i have made.thanksStephanie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
This cake tasted wonderful. We couldn't get enough of it!! However, it doesn't need to be baked for 45 minutes. I took mine out after 40, and the bottom was almost black. It did make a bit too much frosting too, but I think it would have been wonderful layered. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!! This is definetely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
oh my goodness, this was the best spicce cake i have ever tasted (homemade that is)....i was very suprise at how moist it was...this cake was gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANDIGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sharon Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This cake is quite dry. I wish I could figure out a way to make it moister. Yet it had a nice flavor. I made half the frosting and it barely was enough to frost the cake in a 9x13 pan. I won't make this cake again though because it was so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States