Never, Never Fail Pie Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
GREAT! i quartered this recipe (made only 2 servings) to use to top my turkey pot pie dishes. Baked up nicely.. made me look like a great cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAXSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
This was my first attempt at baking. In fact just about anything I make is a first. I'm retired and just begining to learn the ropes. My wife still works so I try to fix her dinner when she gets home. I made this pie crust for the luscious chicken pot pie (also on this site) and the end result was exceptional. I didn't even make a mess with the flour. The crust was flakey (I think that's a good thing) and the taste was great. If I can make this anyone can!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
Thanks to the tips that you can find quite easily at the bottom of this recipe. I have been called the perfect pastry man amongst all the fans of my homemade pies. following this easy to prepare pastry recipe you just can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
YES! This is the best ever pie crust! I have tried crusts, w/ butter, shortening,and oil. Lard is the key! This was so easy and it turned out awesome. I made it first w/ a chicken pot pie. Very easy, turned out perfect, flakey and browned perfectly, no burnt edges. I even tried to over knead it to see what happened. It made no difference it was perfect. Then I made it with an apple pie. I Added 1T sugar, 1T vanilla and 1T Cinnamon. Everybody ranted an raved at how good the pie was and this is a group of gourmet cooks & restaurant workers. I will never try another Pie crust recipe. Thanks Elaine! UPDATE: for those of you substituting butter/shortening/margarine DON'T! The key is the lard. The lard makes this crust light & flaky, like no other oil can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nyteez.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Forest Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This is excellent. This is my first time, and it turn out very very good. Every one enjoy it so much during our Thanksgiving family gathering time. The crust was very flaky. Easy to make. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
It's true - it will not fail, even for a terrible baker like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Best pie pastry recipe I have tried - ever! Once chilled, it rolled out like a dream, and baked up nice and flaky. Unlike other recipes I have tried, there was more than enough for a double crust pie (some are so skimpy you're rolling pretty thin to make it stretch). Great flavour too. Thrilled to find it! Thanks Elaine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
Excellent recipe! The only change I made was that I substituted butter for the lard. It was so easy to roll out and it baked very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I used this crust for all of my pies this Thanksgiving! I did alter it a little though. I used butter-flavored shortening instead of lard. I also added a tsp. of pumpkin pie spice to the dry ingredients. On the filled, unbaked pie, I brushed on milk for shine and sprinkled cinnamon & sugar mix, for a sweeter crust. I keep the cinn. & sugar mix in a shaker for toast...it's probably 1 to 3 ratio of cinn. to sugar. I did cover my crust w/foil until final 20 minutes because some of my pies had to bake for over an hour! This was my first time baking pies and they were all perfect!!! I used some of the pastry within 20 minutes and others were refrigerated for a couple days ~ it was all very workable dough! This is awesome with my altered version of the Down South Sweet Potato Pie recipe ***** for both! This crust is a definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Ann Claudio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
I made this recipe exactly like it said. I thought it wasn't going to work b/c it didn't turn mealy with the lard...seamed like play-doh, but I kept going. Best crust I've ever had. My mom normally makes all of our pies at family gatherings, and she asked if she could have a copy of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

How to Fix a Soggy Pie Bottom

Pie crust a bit undercooked on the bottom? No worries. We’ve got simple fixes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States