Never, Never Fail Pie Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
For the first time in years, here is a pastry recipe I really like. The pastry needs to be worked with at room temp--if you refrigerate it for later, leave it out on the counter for a while to bring it up to room temperature before rolling it out or it's not going to work easily. I used half lard and half shortening, also left out the vanilla as I don't care for it in pastry particularly. The vanilla might work well if making cream pies or similar, it was too much for me here. I suspect this recipe will work equally well with straight shortening, but it will change the texture somewhat. Nonetheless, this is a very tender pastry that is easy to roll out. It's even easy to fold over to get to the pie pan--I've not been able to do that with other pastry recipes I've had in the past, and I love it. And it can be rolled out thin as well, even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
Excellent recipe! The only change I made was that I substituted butter for the lard. It was so easy to roll out and it baked very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This pastry really lived up to its name today. I made it exactly by the recipe. It was a bit sticky, but, after it was chilled, I decided to roll it out between waxed paper. Great idea, or so I thought. It rolled out beutifully, no tears, just perfect. However, it would not come off of the waxed paper. So, since I'm one not to be defeated, and because I didn't want to start again, I just scraped the dough off of the waxed paper, reshaped it, floured it and the board, and rolled it out again. It again rolled out beautifully. I'm thinking at this point that this mess will be the toughest worst pastry I've ever made, but I plowed ahead. I used it with Bev's Chocolate Pie from this site, so it wasn't blind baked, just baked right along with the pie. I gotta tell you, this, even after the torture I put it through, was the best pie pastry I've ever made. My nephew even said he liked the "crust" better than the pie, although he didn't have any problem "forcing down" two large pieces. Great recipe. Thanks much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbsteen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Freedom, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
This was my first attempt at baking. In fact just about anything I make is a first. I'm retired and just begining to learn the ropes. My wife still works so I try to fix her dinner when she gets home. I made this pie crust for the luscious chicken pot pie (also on this site) and the end result was exceptional. I didn't even make a mess with the flour. The crust was flakey (I think that's a good thing) and the taste was great. If I can make this anyone can!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
YES! This is the best ever pie crust! I have tried crusts, w/ butter, shortening,and oil. Lard is the key! This was so easy and it turned out awesome. I made it first w/ a chicken pot pie. Very easy, turned out perfect, flakey and browned perfectly, no burnt edges. I even tried to over knead it to see what happened. It made no difference it was perfect. Then I made it with an apple pie. I Added 1T sugar, 1T vanilla and 1T Cinnamon. Everybody ranted an raved at how good the pie was and this is a group of gourmet cooks & restaurant workers. I will never try another Pie crust recipe. Thanks Elaine! UPDATE: for those of you substituting butter/shortening/margarine DON'T! The key is the lard. The lard makes this crust light & flaky, like no other oil can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nyteez.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Forest Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
I will never use another pastry recipe again. This was great tasting, use to roll and flakey. I was worried at first b/c it was soo stickey I thought of adding more flour but after cooking I was glade I didn't. JUST WOUNDERFUL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I used butter instead of lard and it was perfect, very easy to work with. I put it in the fridge before rolling and it wasn't sticky at all. Maybe the difference is in the baking powder...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
My sainted grandmother would have never made a pie crust without lard. She considered shortening new-fangled. She was well known for her pies and her boiled icings. I finally know what she meant ... and she was right! As soon as I read the ingredients I remembered this and knew I'd found "the answer". Many thanks for submitting this, my new favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I am truly amazed. The traditional tourtiere Christmas dinner became my responsibility this year but I very rarely make pastry. I man-handled the dough (I also omitted the sugar and vanilla) and it turned out amazing. Even my mother-in-law commented on how good the tourtiere was. Such an easy recipe and very tender and flaky. This recipe is a keeper and I will share it with anyone who is interested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inthepink
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Best pie pastry recipe I have tried - ever! Once chilled, it rolled out like a dream, and baked up nice and flaky. Unlike other recipes I have tried, there was more than enough for a double crust pie (some are so skimpy you're rolling pretty thin to make it stretch). Great flavour too. Thrilled to find it! Thanks Elaine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

How to Fix a Soggy Pie Bottom

Pie crust a bit undercooked on the bottom? No worries. We’ve got simple fixes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States