Never, Never Fail Pie Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Easy to make and so tasty! I used shortening instead of lard but otherwise followed the recipe word for word and it turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Great recipe! The flavor of this crust is amazing! I used it to make apple pie and couldn't believe how easy this crust rolled out and could be rolled out so thin! Just like my mom's pie crust, only now I know her secret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I did it! I have tried tons of pastry recipes. I cook a lot and always get made fun of when I try pie because it never turns out right. This time it did!! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
I have never been one thats very good at making pastry i have always brought ready made. But never again this pastry is so easy to make and tastes wonderful in savoury and sweet pies its perfect.Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELLEN666

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Croydon, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Penge, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAWARNE
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Since Muslims are not allowed to take lard so I substituted it with butter and it turned out great. The recipe was very easy to follow and it was my first time making a pie. I used chicken & mushroom cream with chicken cheese sausage. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAWARNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
I made this recipe exactly like it said. I thought it wasn't going to work b/c it didn't turn mealy with the lard...seamed like play-doh, but I kept going. Best crust I've ever had. My mom normally makes all of our pies at family gatherings, and she asked if she could have a copy of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I used this crust for all of my pies this Thanksgiving! I did alter it a little though. I used butter-flavored shortening instead of lard. I also added a tsp. of pumpkin pie spice to the dry ingredients. On the filled, unbaked pie, I brushed on milk for shine and sprinkled cinnamon & sugar mix, for a sweeter crust. I keep the cinn. & sugar mix in a shaker for toast...it's probably 1 to 3 ratio of cinn. to sugar. I did cover my crust w/foil until final 20 minutes because some of my pies had to bake for over an hour! This was my first time baking pies and they were all perfect!!! I used some of the pastry within 20 minutes and others were refrigerated for a couple days ~ it was all very workable dough! This is awesome with my altered version of the Down South Sweet Potato Pie recipe ***** for both! This crust is a definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Ann Claudio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
Excellent recipe! The only change I made was that I substituted butter for the lard. It was so easy to roll out and it baked very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Best pie pastry recipe I have tried - ever! Once chilled, it rolled out like a dream, and baked up nice and flaky. Unlike other recipes I have tried, there was more than enough for a double crust pie (some are so skimpy you're rolling pretty thin to make it stretch). Great flavour too. Thrilled to find it! Thanks Elaine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
It's true - it will not fail, even for a terrible baker like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

How to Fix a Soggy Pie Bottom

Pie crust a bit undercooked on the bottom? No worries. We’ve got simple fixes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States