Never, Never Fail Pie Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Great pie pastry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by great_girl11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I use unsalted butter in place of the lard and only use half the suggested amount. I also save the egg white for brushing the top layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This crust was light, flaky and delicious! You haven't tasted perfect crust until you taste a crust made with lard! To substitute butter or shortening, you are removing the very ingredient that makes this crust special. This is very similar to a crust my mom used differing with the addition of the vanilla extract! Make this crust, it is worth trying. Just make sure you have fresh lard that hasn't expired!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This was so easy and tasty. I made it in the morning and left it in the fridge until I was ready to use it, the only thing I changed was that I used butter instead of Lard. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lissy Read

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I am truly amazed. The traditional tourtiere Christmas dinner became my responsibility this year but I very rarely make pastry. I man-handled the dough (I also omitted the sugar and vanilla) and it turned out amazing. Even my mother-in-law commented on how good the tourtiere was. Such an easy recipe and very tender and flaky. This recipe is a keeper and I will share it with anyone who is interested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inthepink
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This is a great pie crust, I have always tried to make a crust, and end up sending my husband out to buy the roll out ones for the store. It was really sticky coming out of the bowl, so I just added tons of flour while I was working with it. It rolled out great, and let me easily cut out the lattice work top and decorative leaves for my pie this year. I doubled the recipe to make a two crust pie and have enough left over for the bottom of a pie at least. I also used 1/2 shortening and 1/2 butter instead of lard. It looks amazing and tastes even better! Kudos for a pie crust I didn't screw up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
My sainted grandmother would have never made a pie crust without lard. She considered shortening new-fangled. She was well known for her pies and her boiled icings. I finally know what she meant ... and she was right! As soon as I read the ingredients I remembered this and knew I'd found "the answer". Many thanks for submitting this, my new favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This was really tasty. I skipped the vanilla because I was making Chicken Honey Mustard Pie from this site. It was a little harder to work with than I was expecting after reading many of the reviews. My best guess would be because I used a little margarine and a lot of butter-flavor shortening, instead of lard; lard just isn't something I keep on hand. :) Will make again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by cookingmomma
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I've never had trouble making pastry but thought I'd try this one anyway. It was good. The dough was surprisingly wet / sticky, even after 1/2 hour in the fridge. On seeing this though, I just generously floured the board and the top of the dough so I didn't have any sticky accidents. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingmomma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I used butter instead of lard and it was perfect, very easy to work with. I put it in the fridge before rolling and it wasn't sticky at all. Maybe the difference is in the baking powder...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

How to Fix a Soggy Pie Bottom

Pie crust a bit undercooked on the bottom? No worries. We’ve got simple fixes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States