Never, Never Fail Pie Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I made this pie crust and it was very easy to roll out and use. However, it is too flakey and I made mince pies and the pastry was too rich - they just about held together. I think the ratio of fat to flour is too much. Going to make my English Pastry and hope that works better. Its a good recipe just not for what I want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyn Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Fantastic pie crust! I'm not an experienced baker and it still turned out flaky and delicious. I couldn't find lard at the store so I used shortening. The dough is scarily wet but after you chill it there is less liquid. I just added a little flour to the cutting board and rolling pin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I have made this multiple times - it is my go to recipe for pastry now. I am not great in the kitchen and this recipe works just like it says it should. I roll it out on wax paper to make it easier to transfer to the pie plate but that is a user preference as I am not great with a rolling pin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Love this recipe. It's my go-to for a quick pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I always used a mix for pie crusts...I know I know, it's what I grew up with. Never really liked them put thought it was alot of time to make from scratch. I have a Ninja and put everything in at once and in 20 seconds I had pie crust from scratch. It was delish and the bottom crust which usually was waxy from the mix was still flaky. Everyone loved it!!! This is my new pastry recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancy
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Great crust I added sugar to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Am I impressed or what! This is an excellent recipe. My husband said that this was the best apple pie that I had ever made and I have been making pies for 50 years. The pastry was lovely to look at and so, so flakey. Clumped together easily and rolled out easily. I used Crisco because that is what I had on hand. Might try to reduce the shortening a bit next time to see if there is any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Given that I’ve tried a VERY popular pie crust on this site with this same 2:1 ratio of flour to fat and it was a complete disaster, I preempted that same experience with this recipe by reducing the lard to 3/4 cup. Perfection. With the exception of the “too much fat” issue, all remaining ingredients in this recipe, from the egg yolk to the vinegar, indicated it was designed for full, rich flavor and tender flakiness. It delivered just that (and worked well taking the easy way out with the food processor to boot!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
5 stars because I butchered the recipe and it still turned out amazing! I accidentally only put in 1 cup of flour at first. When I added the wet ingredients it was sticky mess. I added the other cup and kneaded it in until it was smooth which took a bit. Yet even with all the kneading it turned out flakey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Perfect EVERY TIME!!! This is the silkiest pastry I have ever worked with. It turns out flaky every time. For a nice change, i switch out almond flavouring for the vanilla. Partcularily nice with pumpkin or apple pie. The best shortening for this is the butter flavoured Crisco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

How to Fix a Soggy Pie Bottom

Pie crust a bit undercooked on the bottom? No worries. We’ve got simple fixes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States