Never-Never Ever-Ever Fail Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I don't know how you could name this Never-Never Ever-Ever fail fudge, because it's failed me twice. The first time I blamed the chips, I used milk/peanut butter mix and only a full bag (so 1 3/4 cup instead of a full 2 cups). Today I used a full 2 cups of semisweet and it doesn't appear to be setting up right again, 3 hours after the fact it still appears soft. In reading the reviews (I didn't before attempting this since it had high stars) it appears you are missing directions? Isn't that what Allrecipes reviews it for? If there is a specific time the fudge needs to be boiled it would be nice if someone would SPECIFY IT. I'm putting the fudge in the fridge in hopes I didn't waste all that chocolate (I made a double batch for a large group) and won't have to buy something to take instead. If it doesn't set this will be the last time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oxford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This fudge isn't nearly as good as i thought it would be. The taste was good but the texture was very, very gritty. It doesn't compare to Ocean City NJ's boardwalk fudge at all. I don't think that I will be making this fudge again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I wish that I had read the reviews before making this fudge. I tried the recipe twice. I thought the flavor was good but the fudge didn't set up properly. Of course, I followed the recipe to the letter. Now I read that you have to boil and stir for 5 minutes! There should be a change made to the recipe published on this site. I think I will try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This was a pretty good fudge recipe. I will stick to using the marshmallow cream recipe though. It is much creamier. This dries out if left in the refridgerator, and I have never had that problem with fudge. But Does taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEPRINCESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taylor, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I use a similar recipe with the following slight differences: 1 3/4 cups sugar, dash of salt, 2 1/4 cups of mini marshallows (melt much easier), and 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips. Boiling for five minutes and stirring constantly is very important. I add the nuts and vanilla after the chocoate and marshmallows are melted. I've had trouble with fudge in the past, so I was thrilled to find an easier way to make it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
I have just made this fudge for the kajillionth time & I still have never had a failure. I'm puzzled by the high failure rate. Altho I was VERY remiss in not specifying the FIVE min. boil & stir. Tx to those who caught that. Todays batch is gift worthy. Good luck to all. Sincerely, Jackie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
Stir while boiling for 5 min!!!(very important)and constantly stir!!! I would use mini marshmallows, because they disslove easier(about 192 mini ones equal 16 large ones). I only used 3 large ones and they rest where mini, and it took for ever to get the 3 large ones to disslove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
I thought this recipe was easy and the fudge was delicious. I also made it using one cup of peanut butter in place of the chocolate chips and it turned out wonderfully. I do suggest you let the marshmallows melt before adding in the choc chips and vanilla for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
I have to say when I made this recipe I didn't know you needed to boil the milk, sugar, and salt 5 mins,and I don't think mine boiled for that long. I brought mine to a rolling boil and then removed it from the heat. The only thing I did different from the recipe was I added the marshmallows in first and stirred them until completely melted before adding the chocolate and vanilla. The marshmallows are part of what prevents the sugar from making the fudge grainy. Also, always use a top of the line sugar, such as Domino's brand. Cheap brands, or store brands have a more course grain. Mine turned out great, chocolatey and smooth. I prefer a softer fudge, so this one was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
OK, I tried this twide. It never set up right (better the second time but how many tries is it gonna take??!!) The flavor is great, but it's just a gooey mess. I boiled 5 minutes. The first time, I think I boiled too long or hard. Hmm. I'm very disappointed. I used to make fudge with marshmallow cream that turned out great. But my son is allergic to eggs, so I have to use a recipe with actual marshmallows -- I'd hoped it would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States