Never Fail Pie Crust III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
It is a perfect, tried-and-true recipe that is exactly what my g'ma and great-g'ma used and turns out absolutely beautiful EVERY time! No fancy ingredients. Put it in freezer for about 1/2 hr. and it rolls out lovely. Anyway...give this a shot and you may just think you're a pastry chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I've been using this recipe for years with my apple pies. I make 6-8 apple pies every year for Thanksgiving and this recipe has NEVER failed me and gets rave reviews. For those complaining about waiting overnight, I have had luck putting mine in the freezer while I prepped other things, and had no problems rolling it out that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I've been cooking for 30 years, and have never mastered the art of making pie crust until trying this recipe. It is melt in you mouth good, easy to make, and easily converted to vegan by using my favorite vegan margarine. A+++ I made this crust last night with the chocolate tofu pie filling. It was fabulous and my family had finished the pie for breakfast in less than an hour. On to another one today with the tofu and two for friends filled with a terrific vegan pumpkin filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie1960

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kountryKook
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Loved this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly, this was my first attempt at a 'from scratch' pie crust. I used it on a double crust Chicken Pot Pie, It turned out beautiful, it was flakey and melted in our mouths. I don't think that I would choose this for a 'sweet' pie but definately will be using it again for meat pies. I didn't have any plastic wrap so I stored the pieces all together in a tupperware container and they were just fine. I rolled them out on my counter top sprinkled in flour and folded them twice to transfer them to the pie plates and it worked beautifully for me. As I said this was my first attempt at a home made crust so I didn't flute the edges perfectly but it still came out of the oven looking pretty. I baked the pie at 450 for about 25 minutes I usually have to bake them for 35... so keep an eye on your pies, as this dough seemed to bake a little faster than normal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kountryKook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharpsburg, Georgia, USA
Living In: Marshall, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crystlek
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This is a great easy pie crust recipe! Its not quite as good as one with eggs and vinegar, but it is very flaky and really does melt in your mouth! I didn't refridgerate mine, instead I put it in the freezer for about 3 hours. I also added a teaspoon of white sugar. Make sure your shortening is chilled, it makes things much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystlek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
My first time ever making pies, I used this recipe to make five double-crust apple pies and four pecan pies. They came out great, even though I messed up the first two crusts trying to roll them out between two pieces of wax paper. The rest rolled out beautifully on a floured tabletop. I used lard for the shortening. The crust was so flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
the people before me have said good things for this recipe but personally i tryed it and it was ver frustrating because it kept breaking apart and in the end it was just way too flaky.I have been cooking for a long time and i also took a cooking class where we learned how to make pastries and such. But i like trying new recipes and i can promise u that i will never try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This crust recipe was just ok. I dont like having to wait overnight to make my pie. I like pie crusts that only need to be refridgerated for an hour or so. Coming out of the fridge it was really hard and I had to roll it in my hands until it got softer; but the consistency was kind of crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
This has been a wonderful recipe. I have never had any trouble with it. It easy to roll and makes a great crust. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
Wow! Melts in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States