Never Fail Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SaraColorado
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I am 38 and I've been looking for pie crust recipes my whole life. I've failed miserably so many times that I usually just buy the premise. I felt confident and thought I'd give it another try. This one was super easy and it is delicious. It is very flaky and lights and yummy. I will be making this forever now. Thank you thank you. This recipe makes enough for almost 3 pie crusts maybe even four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraColorado

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This is the best pie crust I have ever made and I bake quite frequently. Out of habit I always roll out pie dough and even rolled out this crust came out great. I also prefer real butter instead of butter flavor shortening so that is the only change I made purely due to my own preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
When I first made the crust, it was VERY pasty. I was letting my 6 year old help me, so once everything was made up, I added probably another 1/4 of flour - it was humid out, even with our AC running - and the crust came together PERFECTLY. Keep in mind when you make this crust the humidity - just like bread and other baked goods, humidity can affect pie crust. Even though my Grandma's no fail piecrust didn't use vinegar, eggs, or sugar, I like this one JUST as much...and hers was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I didn't have butter flavored shortening but it didn't matter, It was amazing with regular shortening. No fail is right because I fail on most dough type stuff unless I use the bread maker :) I made a quiche with it and I still had enough left over to make homemade chicken pot pie. Enough crust for the bottom and top! I made the dough with the intention of using it the same night but I was short of eggs so I wrapped it and put it in the fridge. Rolled out great the next day (Quiche for lunch, pot pie for dinner) Thank you Mary for this fantastic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristenmarie211

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I've made this crust a few times and it really is no fail. It is by far the best tasting crust I've ever made. It is a little hard to work with because it is not very firm, but it can literally be pressed into the pie plate. It is well worth the extra effort and works in both sweet and savory pies. Thank you for posting Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Tried this last night for a chicken pot pie. It was the easiest pie crust I've ever made, and I've been making pies for 40+ years. I did roll it out between two pieces of wax paper (floured) because I wanted a thin even crust. It baked to an even golden color, and was flaky and delicious. My husband loved it, and had two huge helpings! I don't think I'll ever make pie crust any other way. (The only change I made was to use regular vegetable shortening as that is what was in my pantry.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I use this crust EVERY time I bake. It is a little more like a cookie kind of crust as opposed to a flakey kind... but it is ALWAYS a hit! Super easy... Freezes well... and YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Absolutely divine. Easy to make and even easier to enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I absolutely LOVE this pie crust recipe. It is so simple and it has a great flavor. The only change I make is that I use butter instead of butter-flavored shortening because I don't like shortening in my recipes. I also cut the ingredients in half and it's still enough for two pies! My picky 6yr old son and husband love it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is the best pie crust I've ever had-buttery, flaky, and just plain amazing. I get nothing but compliments on my pies thanks to this recipe... If you don't have a good crust, you don't have a good pie. I've used it for every pie-from fruit to cream, and it comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States