Never Fail Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
I am just learning how to make pie dough. Have had many failures so stayed away from them for alot years. This was very quick, easy and good. Froze half the dough so will see how it works after thawed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
It didn't fail! It had a wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
This recipe is very similar to the one my mother-in-law gave me. I will never use any other. This is so easy and delicious. I have used this for Apple pies to Lemon Meringue pies. This is a can't kill crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chelsea, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
This pie crust was very easy to make. However, I didn't feel it had enough flavor. I'm going to try a little more salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
I always use this recipe now. I like to refrigerate it for a little while before rolling it out because it's so much easier to handle. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
This is the Holy Grail of pie crust!! I have been trying for years to make a pie crust and always end up with a patch work of dough. This was easy, I have made 4 pies and each turned out perfect. The crust is flaky. Who would have ever thought-wax paper! No mess no fuss. If you have given up on making pie, try this,I am sending this recipe to everyone I can think of. Thank you Susan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
I had a terrible time with this crust. Based on the other reviews, it looked like the answer to my pie crust prayers. It mixed well and rolled out beautifully but stuck to the waxed paper and fell apart as I tried to get it into the pie plate. I had to patch it together. When it baked, it had an odd texture and appearance. Sorry, but I'll just keep looking for that "never fail" recipe. And there's always Pillsbury for a stand-by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
I loved this! It was so soft and flaky. I used the butter flavored Crisco and it was amazing... Recommend to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
This is almost exactly the recipe my mother uses! Everyone always loves her pies. The only difference is that she uses 1 1/4 cups shortening instead of 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
I was looking for a pie dough recipe with vinegar. I did not like the flavor of this crust at all. After comparing it to several other recipes (after I tried the pie), it seems to have about 1/2 cup too much shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States