Never Fail Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Perfect pastry even when the recipe is doubled. Rich and flaky crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Have been using this recipe for years. The only changes I made is using half whole wheat flour and replacing 1/2 cup of shortening with one stick of frozen butter. Makes a nutty flavor and a tender, flakey crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Florence, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I like how easliy this crust rolled out, but I'm not sure that I liked the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
NEVER FAILS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paverman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
My mother's recipe was similar but only had 1 c. shortening which would lower the fat content. I keep back about 1 T. water to add (if needed) to the crumbs left in the bottom of the bowl. This recipe makes 3 crusts with scraps left to bake topped with a little cinnamon & sugar for a snack right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Always use Butter Flavor Crisco and you will wow everyone with this buttery flaky crust which turns out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This is a good flaky pie crust but too greasy, and there wasn't really enough dough for two double crust pies. Next time I will add an additional cup of flour and maybe a little more water as needed. I like a little butter in my pie crust so I used 1 cup of shortening plus 1/2 cup of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I gave this recipe every benefit of the doubt. Made it three times and all three times it fell apart-the dough was sticky and wet and never came together. I made it with very cold shortening-the second time I made it with very cold butter, I left it in the fridge over night, I left it in the fridge for a few hours, I tried everything-but this is an all fail pie recipe to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This pie crust is exactly what it says....never fail! I use it all the time when I make pies. It rolls out so nice without even having to chill it! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
There was something about using the vinegar and then allowing the dough to refrigerate overnight that it rolled out easier than any other crust I have tried. I believe the acidity improves the dough's ease of rolling out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States