Never Fail Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Never Fail is the only recipe I use. However I use 5 cups flour, 2tsps. salt, 2 cups butter flavor Crisco. Mix. In a cup measure 1 beaten egg, 1 TBLS white vinegar and fill with water to one cup. Makes enough for 6 crusts. Divide and freeze. I always roll between plastic wrap. Using extra flour when rolling is not a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Terific recipe! Have used it for years, the only difference being that I use 6 T. water instead of 5 1/2. It really makes three generous crusts. I chill the three balls in sandwich bags, then roll between wax papers or freeze. Never fails!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I've made lots of pie crusts but I have to say that I will always use this one. It's perfect. The pie crust is always flaky and I've yet to be disappointed. Definitely 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Flaky, great taste and does not crumble. I used parchment paper with my rolling pin. Butter flavored Crisco gave it an added taste. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tastingchic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
The pastry came out nice and flaky. I prefer to add the liquid a little at a time so I mixed in the egg and vinegar before adding the water. I thought it had enough liquid and didn't add any water, I should have as it didn't roll out very well. I will make it again because I liked the texture and flavor. This is also the same recipe as Grandma's Secret pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This recipe was passed down from my grandmother to my mother, then to me. It does never fail. One thing you should know is that you can over mix the dough at the end. So just mix just until incorporated. This dough is also very good in pot pies. You can cut out large sized cookie rounds, bake them, and top off a stew or soup of your choice. I make these ahead of time and freeze them. It keeps the calories down and you don't have soggy dough in the bottom of the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Yep, this is one I have used a lot over the years. The only thing I do differently is I roll it out on a well-floured flour-sack towel and dust my rolling pin a little. Works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
I was looking for a pie dough recipe with vinegar. I did not like the flavor of this crust at all. After comparing it to several other recipes (after I tried the pie), it seems to have about 1/2 cup too much shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
This is almost exactly the recipe my mother uses! Everyone always loves her pies. The only difference is that she uses 1 1/4 cups shortening instead of 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
I loved this! It was so soft and flaky. I used the butter flavored Crisco and it was amazing... Recommend to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States