Never Fail Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Perfect pastry even when the recipe is doubled. Rich and flaky crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Have been using this recipe for years. The only changes I made is using half whole wheat flour and replacing 1/2 cup of shortening with one stick of frozen butter. Makes a nutty flavor and a tender, flakey crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Florence, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I like how easliy this crust rolled out, but I'm not sure that I liked the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
NEVER FAILS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paverman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
My mother's recipe was similar but only had 1 c. shortening which would lower the fat content. I keep back about 1 T. water to add (if needed) to the crumbs left in the bottom of the bowl. This recipe makes 3 crusts with scraps left to bake topped with a little cinnamon & sugar for a snack right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Always use Butter Flavor Crisco and you will wow everyone with this buttery flaky crust which turns out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This is a good flaky pie crust but too greasy, and there wasn't really enough dough for two double crust pies. Next time I will add an additional cup of flour and maybe a little more water as needed. I like a little butter in my pie crust so I used 1 cup of shortening plus 1/2 cup of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I gave this recipe every benefit of the doubt. Made it three times and all three times it fell apart-the dough was sticky and wet and never came together. I made it with very cold shortening-the second time I made it with very cold butter, I left it in the fridge over night, I left it in the fridge for a few hours, I tried everything-but this is an all fail pie recipe to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This pie crust is exactly what it says....never fail! I use it all the time when I make pies. It rolls out so nice without even having to chill it! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
There was something about using the vinegar and then allowing the dough to refrigerate overnight that it rolled out easier than any other crust I have tried. I believe the acidity improves the dough's ease of rolling out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States