Never Fail Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
Yikes! This was a recipe for those who like their food smothered. I fixed it in a dish and used the sauce on top. No one would eat it because the BBQ sauce was so overpowering. The meat salvaged without the sauce was o.k.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
My husband has never liked any type of meatloaf I have ever tried; always too dry and not enough taste he said; however, this one was an absolute hit!! Very full of taste and not dry what so ever!!! He requests this dish at least once a week!! As an update, I have changed from using the Hickory Smoked flavor BBQ sause to using, Kraft's Honey Hickory Smoked. With that change it is filled with even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wapakoneta, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I made this recipe almost exactly like it says, minus the brown sugar and bbq sauce on top. I used ketchup only and it came out FABULOUS!!!!! I am not a meatloaf eater at all but will eat this. People think I am nuts when i tell them I use stuffing mix in it instead of bread or crackers, TILL THEY TRY IT then they beg for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
You don't need 2.5 lbs of beef, I used one and just most of the stuffing box (I used chicken flavour, it's all I had), and one egg. The stuffing gave a tremendous amount of flavor to this dish. I will def make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRCLAIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidon, South, Lebanon
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I used to make this all the time until we ate it so much we got sick of it. There seems to be big chunks of stuff ing mix in it. So, I think next time I make it, I will use breadcrumbs instead of stuffing mix. I cut the recipe in half & put it in a meatloaf pan. In my opinion there is way too much sauce on the top. I cut it down to 1/4 C each of bbq sauce & brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
My family enjoyed this meatloaf. The glaze is good, but you have to like barbecue sauce. It makes a lot so that you can spoon the glaze over each slice of meatloaf, in place of ketchup. I sometimes add 1 or 2 teaspoons of lemon juice to the glaze and that is good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Nice start with an excellent finish. I started with this recipe as the barbecue sauce and herb-seasoned croutons appealed to me. But that’s where my interest ended, as the rest of the recipe seemed very basic. So by the time I got done embellishing this recipe to my liking I guess the only resemblance it had to the original recipe was, for the most part, the barbecue sauce and herb-seasoned croutons. So…I used a ground beef, veal and pork mix – 2 pounds total, so I scaled this recipe to 6 servings. I processed the croutons into fine crumbs. I didn’t want an overpowering taste of barbecue sauce, so I reduced it by a third, to 1/2 cup (again, for the recipe scaled to 6 servings for 2 pounds of meat). I made up the difference with the milk (I used half-and-half, increasing it to 1/2 cup). I wanted some contrast in texture, so I added 1/2 c. each of chopped celery and green pepper, and 1 c. of chopped onion. It isn’t meatloaf without these ingredients, if you ask me. I more than tripled the garlic, to a full tablespoon, and added 2 tsp. of Montreal Steak Seasoning. I skipped the glaze altogether. Meatloaf and sugar don’t work for me. No regrets on that either. What started out as maybe a three star recipe turned out to be a 5-star recipe after, I admit, fairly significant changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
After 12 years of marriage and countless meatloaf related tears and tantrums from my husband, my dogs and myself I have finally found a meatloaf recipe that isboth easy and delicious. The only substitution I made was I ommited the brown sugar and bbq sauce Because I am not a big fan of sweet tasting meats. I substituted 1/2 cup ketchup which I put in the meatloaf mix. About 20 minutes before I took it out of the oven I spread more ketchup over the top and then let it cook. The loaf as juicy,seasoned just right and my husband didn't run for the hills and my dogs aren't trying too call the humane society to rescue them frothe horror of mommy's meatloaf. Thankyou for contributing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This is a great meatloaf variation. The only thing I did differently was saute the onion before mixing it with the meat since I don't like crunchy onions in my meatloaf, and I halved the recipe. We're barbecue lovers, we really enjoyed this, and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sherry Knoebel Roberts
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Very Good! I was surprised how well the stuffing worked. I will use this from now on for other meatloaf receipes. Very moist. The whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Knoebel Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States