Never Fail Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
These have worked for me EVERY time I've made them. The only thing I do different is roll the dough a little thinner, then fold over once and cut as usual. This creates a natural "center" that the biscuit opens right to. Love this with honey on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
351 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Perfect biscuits! Firm enough to stand up to a dousing of gravy, but moist and fluffy enough to eat with jam. For those who are having trouble with these biscuits, flour makes a world of difference in a biscuit recipe. If you live in the South, try White Lily or another low protein flour. If you live in the North or West, replace 2-3 Tbsp of all purpose flour with cake or Wondra flour for the best results. Northern flour, especially the nicer brands, have too much protein to make a good biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
These are nice and light biscuits. I used 1-cup of buttermilk in place of the 3/4-cup Milk and they were delicios! "Never Fail" stands up to its promise! I recommend using these for berry shortcakes or topped with a peach and some juice, with a dollop of whipped cream. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
This is the biscuit recipe I've searched everywhere for! Flaky on the outside, soft and thick on the inside. I doubled the recipe and made about 18 instead of 24, and I think they were the perfect size. The only suggestion I would make would be to grate the butter in a food processor and then add it to the dry ingredients; it mixes right in and is much faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
Very good! Nice and flaky! I don't have any biscuit cutters, so I always use the top of a glass jar that is about the same size around to cut the dough, just dip it in flour before cutting each one. Works the same for me! Thank you Madison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
These biscuits were great! I have never had success with homemade biscuits until I tried this recipe. They were nice and flaky with a hint of sweetness. They were simply perfect...not to mention quick and easy to make! Thanks a million!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Quick, easy and delicious! I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and they are yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
Wonderfully flaky, tender and richly flavored biscuits! I've been trying to find a good biscuit recipe that didn't call for shortening, as did my old favorite recipe, because I'm now living in Finland where crisco, sadly, does not exist. I'm no longer lamenting my misfortunes, though, as I found this excellent recipe that yields a biscuit that is comparable in flakiness to a shortening biscuit, but it's taste is way more flavorful and buttery. I will be using this recipe from now on and am so happy to have found something to bake that sure does remind of being back home. I will note that I didn't use cream of tartar, simply because there isn't any available here, but the biscuits still turned out tasty and fluffy... I could only imagine that they would be even fluffier with the cream of tartar, though. So, if you're worried about not having any tartar, don't sweat it. The baking powder works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lappeenranta, Etelä-Karjala, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
I'm a Bisquick kind of girl due to trying oh so many biscuit recipes (some were heavy, some didn't rise well, etc.) Well, I'm kissing Bisquick goodbye. This is the recipe for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
MY FAMILY LOVES THESE BISCUITS!!! Before all my biscuits turned out like little crackers(baker error of course) This recipe truly lives up to its name. Even I couldn't mess these up. I'm an excellent baker, but biscuits had always been my down fall...until now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: College Park, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States