Never Fail Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
These turned out pretty good. I doubled the recipe, and in place of 4 coups of white flower, I used 2 cups of whole wheat flower and 2 cups white. It needs some extra salt, so be mindful of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
My boyfriend flipped when I made these!! His fave recipe is my cheesy garlic biscuits, which I've always used Bisquick to make. I tried this recipe since Bisquick isn't very budget-friendly, and adapted to make my biscuits (add a half a cup of sharp cheddar to the biscuit mix essentially) and I had to use 2 tsp vinegar in place of Cream of Tarter, because I didn't have any of the latter. They were AMAZING. So light and fluffy. This recipe is definitely sticking around at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Excellent....easy...delisious!! A definite "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was my first time making biscuits and they came out great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Finally! I've tried many times but have never perfected the breakfast biscuit...until now. Thank you Dakota Kelly! I didn't have cream of tartar but I followed the rest of the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Yesterday morning I make biscuits from mix for my kids. This morning I decided to try my hand at from-scratch biscuits. What a difference! The kids gobbled these up. This recipe yields a delicious flakey biscuit. I did not have quite enough butter but 3/4 of a stick seemed to do the job just fine. I also had no cream of tarter. I ended up using 3 tsp of baking powder and 1 tsp of baking soda. They came out very light and fluffy. Like another reviewer, I rolled out my dough thinner and folded it over. I will absolutely make these again! Thanks for the great recipe, Dakota.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I raced home from work last night though a batch into the oven and my father-in-law could not get enough. He was very upset when they were all gone. Thanks for a great recipe Dakota Kelly. I look forward to adding herbs and cheese as a variation. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Almost the same as our old family recipe. Ours calls for shortening instead of the butter. Also ours uses 3 tablespoons of sugar (we always make them heaping). The sweeter biscuits are great with honey or desserts. I do use level tablespoons when I am making them for gravy or a savory recipe. Also, ours uses slightly less milk and 400 for 18-20 minutes. I think I will try the higher temp for shorter time next time we are in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Weinert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I really enjoy baking. However, i've never been able to bake homemade biscuits. Finally, a recipe that speaks for it's name. These were delicious. Moist on the inside and light and crisp on the outside. My kiddos devoured them and I didn't have to hear them say they were "HARD AS HOCKEY PUCKS". Thanks, Dakota!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vnsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
These are really good! Next time I will make them bigger, and cook them for less time. They were a little over-done, but still yummy, and worth a second shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States