Never Fail Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Almost the same as our old family recipe. Ours calls for shortening instead of the butter. Also ours uses 3 tablespoons of sugar (we always make them heaping). The sweeter biscuits are great with honey or desserts. I do use level tablespoons when I am making them for gravy or a savory recipe. Also, ours uses slightly less milk and 400 for 18-20 minutes. I think I will try the higher temp for shorter time next time we are in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRGW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I really enjoy baking. However, i've never been able to bake homemade biscuits. Finally, a recipe that speaks for it's name. These were delicious. Moist on the inside and light and crisp on the outside. My kiddos devoured them and I didn't have to hear them say they were "HARD AS HOCKEY PUCKS". Thanks, Dakota!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vnsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
These are really good! Next time I will make them bigger, and cook them for less time. They were a little over-done, but still yummy, and worth a second shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
These are absolutely fabulous and surprisingly easy to make. BUT . . . due to the very, very high calorie, fat & cholesterol count for each biscuit, these will be for special occasions only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
this is awesome and will work great for fishing, just premix all the dry ingredients and put in a old jar. then (at the lake) mix in butter and milk, put it in cast irom cooking pot put over fire untin done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEFFERY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
These are never fail. I have made them several times exactly as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
These biscuits are even better if you use a tablespoonful of vinegar to the milk to sour it before adding it to the other ingredients. Unbeatable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Sugar in a biscuit? This Southerner says NO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Raised light and tall, yet were moist and not crumbly. I grated in a stick of frozen butter (I keep some in the freezer). Mix just until dough holds together and then let it sit for a minute or two instead of mixing in every bit of flour. Tasty and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
At 465 calories and almost 25 grams of fat per biscuit, they would have to be a once in a while treat for my family. Certainly not helpful for healthy eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States