Never Fail Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Yesterday morning I make biscuits from mix for my kids. This morning I decided to try my hand at from-scratch biscuits. What a difference! The kids gobbled these up. This recipe yields a delicious flakey biscuit. I did not have quite enough butter but 3/4 of a stick seemed to do the job just fine. I also had no cream of tarter. I ended up using 3 tsp of baking powder and 1 tsp of baking soda. They came out very light and fluffy. Like another reviewer, I rolled out my dough thinner and folded it over. I will absolutely make these again! Thanks for the great recipe, Dakota.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I raced home from work last night though a batch into the oven and my father-in-law could not get enough. He was very upset when they were all gone. Thanks for a great recipe Dakota Kelly. I look forward to adding herbs and cheese as a variation. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Almost the same as our old family recipe. Ours calls for shortening instead of the butter. Also ours uses 3 tablespoons of sugar (we always make them heaping). The sweeter biscuits are great with honey or desserts. I do use level tablespoons when I am making them for gravy or a savory recipe. Also, ours uses slightly less milk and 400 for 18-20 minutes. I think I will try the higher temp for shorter time next time we are in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Weinert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I really enjoy baking. However, i've never been able to bake homemade biscuits. Finally, a recipe that speaks for it's name. These were delicious. Moist on the inside and light and crisp on the outside. My kiddos devoured them and I didn't have to hear them say they were "HARD AS HOCKEY PUCKS". Thanks, Dakota!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vnsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
These are really good! Next time I will make them bigger, and cook them for less time. They were a little over-done, but still yummy, and worth a second shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
These are absolutely fabulous and surprisingly easy to make. BUT . . . due to the very, very high calorie, fat & cholesterol count for each biscuit, these will be for special occasions only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
this is awesome and will work great for fishing, just premix all the dry ingredients and put in a old jar. then (at the lake) mix in butter and milk, put it in cast irom cooking pot put over fire untin done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEFFERY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
These are never fail. I have made them several times exactly as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
These biscuits are even better if you use a tablespoonful of vinegar to the milk to sour it before adding it to the other ingredients. Unbeatable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Sugar in a biscuit? This Southerner says NO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States