Never Fail Applesauce Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
This is a very good cake, especially the cooked pecans in the frosting. My husband raved about it. I will be making this on a regular basis. The recipe will have a place on my refrigerator for quick reference. Thanks soooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
I forgot to add to my previous review - I omitted the nuts in the cake and added instead organic raisins soaked in rum for 24 hours. I also used maple frosting (confectioners sugar frosting with mostly cream cheese, a little bit of butter, a dab of milk and some maple flavoring.) A delicious combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
I added raisins and omitted the nuts in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
This was a very flavorful and tasty cake. I would definitely make it again. However, my cooking time differed drastically from the recipe. My cake was done in 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
Moist and delicious cake. Last time I tossed in there a bag of dried fruit and turned into a beautiful fruitcake. My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
I love this. The only thing is the kids weren't to crazy about the nuts in the cake. Maybe next time will leave out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
My whole family enjoyed it. Very easy to make. I also left out the nuts since my children don't like in the foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
this was a very good, very moist cake. tastes better the second day. i used almond extract in my frosting and it worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
This was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
WONDERFUL!! Quick, easy, moist and delicious. I cut the recipe in half -cooking for one- and used an 8" sq pan, baked for 40 min, but next time I'll probably use the full recipe and freeze half. I used a simple vanilla glaze and spread over a still warm cake. Even had some for breakfast this morning- after all it does contain fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States