Never Fail Applesauce Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was an excellent cake. I used homemade applebutter in place of the applesauce and halved the spices. Other than that this was made exactly as stated and it was moist, spicy, not too sweet and kept really well. The icing could probably be cut in half and still have been enough for the cake since it was rather sweet and I still had some left over with the amount in the recipe, but that was just preference. Easy enough to fix, though. We used it as a spread on some banana bread and it was another perfect match! Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RioChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saxtons River, Vermont, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
very good cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne from IL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Following the other reviews, I cit the sugar to 1 C white and 1/4 C dark brown. I replaced the spices with 1 1/2 t Penzey's Cake Spice and used pureed pears instead of applesauce. I used pecans in the cake to match the frosting. I also cut the powdered sugar to 3 cups for the frosting. The cake only took 40 minutes to bake to perfection. The entire family RAVED over it. I also took some to the elderly ladies next door who thought it was the best thing since sliced bread! Wonderful recipe. It will be used again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixi M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
wonderful!! In place of cinnamon, cloves,and alspice I used 1 1/2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillie Crane

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
All I have to say is "Wow!" I loved this cake! I, too, had buttermilk and cream cheese that I wanted to use (and a huge jar of applesauce). I made some slight changes. I substituted 1 cup of whole wheat pastry flavor (always do). It's really good quality flour, so you can't even tell. I also cut and shredded one granny smith apple and added it to the batter. I omitted the nuts/melted butter in the icing and just made cream cheese frosting. I didn't quite put 4 cups of sugar either. Oh, and mine didn't take 50 mins either, but I never bake anything for as long as recipes state. My oven is very hot, so it always takes less time. This recipe is a keeper. It is absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I used this cake in our Oktoberfest Baking Contest! I won second place!!!! I changed using chuncky applesauce and used my own cream cheese icing recipe. Also I made this into a layer cake and in the middle spread caramel ice cream topping. It was SUPER YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Fantastic! I loved this cake and will be making it again. At first I was not so sure about using APPLESAUCE, but trust me, this is a FANTASTIC cake! I have no suggestions as how to change this recipe, because it is so good, no changes are nessesary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This recipe is fantastic and was a big hit! I picked it because I needed to use up some leftover buttermilk and I just happen to have applesauce at home as well. The only thing I changed was instead of 1 1/2 cups of white sugar, I did 1 cup of sugar and then a 1/2 cup of soft dark brown sugar. Instead of all of the individually listed spices I just used pumpkin pie spice and a little extra ground cinnamon. Just minor changes - nothing radical - and again, this is a fantastic cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Linz, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kris
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was a great cake! It was very moist. I did up the cinnamon to a full teaspoon and I also added 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg because I wanted it to be more spice than applesauce flavor. I didn't use the recipe for frosting because I already have a cream cheese frosting that I love (found on this site) that is not overly sweet. I thought this one called for way too much sugar, so I didn't even try it. The flavor of this cake was outstanding! Like a nice carrot cake, minus the carrots and raisins. Oh! One other slight change. I subbed 3/4 cup of the sugar for Splenda. I did think that the order of mixing the cake was very odd, but it turned out just fine. The butter was very hard to encorporate as written. Next time, I'll mix traditionally, creaming the butter with the sugar, then adding eggs, etc... All in all, this recipe (albiet a tad quirky) is a keeper and I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Good spice cake. My son has requested it for his birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNHARJE

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States