Never Fail Applesauce Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Caroline
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This cake is moist and delicious - a complete crowd pleaser. I had to leave out the walnuts because I can't eat them and was going to substitute pecans but realized I had none, so that will be my next attempt at this recipe. The only thing I changed besides that was to add just a bit of nutmeg because it just seemed to be begging to be in there! Excellent recipe, a winner all the way. This one is definitely going into the family recipe album!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brule, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I made this recipe a couple of weeks ago without the nuts because I had intended to freeze it, and it still turned out wonderfully. My boyfriend took one bite, turned to me and said "Honey, this the best cake ever." Thank you Glenda. P.S. If it makes it to the freezer, it freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Cut sugar down to 1 cup. This cake is quick to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I made this into cupcakes and topped some with maple cream cheese frosting and some with caramel frosting. Both combinations were absolutely delicious. The cupcakes were moist and had just the right amount of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I made the recipe pretty much with as written. I have to agree that the frosting is way too sweet (and I have a sweet tooth), plus it makes more than I need. I see that other reviewers reduced the sugar in the cake, but I used an unsweetened, all natural applesauce so the sugar for the cake was fine. I increased the cinnamon to about 1.5 teaspoons (wanted to empty out the little I had in the jar) and didn't have allspice so substituted an equal amount of freshly ground nutmeg. The cake is moist, sweet, spicy, just what I was looking for. Glenda, thank you for this submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This cake is fabulous! I served it with vanilla ice-cream and drizzled with homemade butterscotch sauce. An easy dessert that got rave reviews :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Good, moist. Good mix of spices. Excellent fall cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Too sweet for my tastes. The cream cheese frosting was a bit overpowering, too. Both those are really easy fixes, though. Next time I'll cut the sugar in half and use a vanilla frosting. This is a very nice recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CartoonJunkie33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Mmmmm... so soft and delicious. I skipped the frosting and it was STILL good! Had a group of high school kids make it and they did really well. Had them make a hazelnut caramel sauce to top it and that was delicious too! I recommend it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauseon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This recipe is WONDERFUL!!!! I made it for a birthday, and it was a huge success. Moist, flavorful, great texture, the works. This is going in my forever-file. My only changes - I took it out somewhere around 42 minutes instead of 50, and since I had to omit the nuts, I added 1 T. of butter of the frosting to make up for the lack of the butter pecans. Great job - thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States