Never Fail Applesauce Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Very good. This is definitely a spice cake; if you want more of an applesauce flavor, you might want to cut back on the spices in it. It is, however, rather lovely as is and is awesome with the frosting as well, which reminds me a bit of German Chocolate frosting. I love the pecans and the flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Easy great cake recipe. I make this A LOT for parties, teachers, school functions. Can't comment on the icing because I never stray from Paula Deen's cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This cake was delicious! I did make a few changes. I used part brown sugar instead of all white sugar, used oil instead of butter, and also I also frosted with a brown sugar frosting. Made the frosting by bringing 2 cups brown sugar, 1 cup heavy cream, 2 tbsp butter, and 1/4 tsp cream of tartar to boil. Let boil for 2 minutes. Let cool for an hour, then using a mixer, add in another the rest of the stick of butter you cut the 2 tbsp from, plus a second stick. Refrigerate the frosting to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Brought this into work. Lots of complaints about blown diets, but they all want me to bring it in again. Had four people separately tell that it is the best cake they've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakhurst, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
The spice cake and frosting were very good. However, I did not include any of the nuts because the cake was for my son's first birthday and nuts are not recommended at his age for allergy reasons. I added brown sugar and cinnamon to the frosting in place of the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sningram

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willows, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Wonderfull thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I had made some applesauce and was looking for a recipe for applesauce cake to use some. Am I ever glad I found this one! Moist, flavorful and oh so easy to make. I like a little darker cake, so I added 2 tablespoons of molasses, but that's the only change. We love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoneyTiger3m

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I got many compliments on this cake. But I have to recommend that you check on it after 25 to 30 minutes - not 50 minutes like the recipe says. Great cake if you keep an eye on it. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
moist and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Very good, everyone was happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States