Never Fail Applesauce Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This cake is very moist. I made a pan and brought it into work. I thought maybe half the cake would be gone by the end of the day. The whole cake was gone in 25 minutes. People were coming back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I found the homemade cake recipe a bit too much. I wanted a less heavy cake. So, I made the following changes: I changed the homemade cake recipe to a yellow butter cake mix with pudding in the mix. I also changed the spices, decreasing the cloves to 1/4 teaspoon and adding 1/4 teaspoon of ginger. I eliminated the buttermilk and added 1/4 cup of 2% milk and 3 eggs instead of 2. Absolutely delicious!! A very moist and substantial cake. One that carries the cream cheese frosting with no problem
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Accidentally rated/reviewed this recipe. Please ignore, I meant to rate a different one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Shirk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
Delicious! Just finished a piece and thought I'd go review it. I followed the recipe pretty much exactly as written, except substituted walnuts for pecans throughout. Also used unsweetened applesauce, since the recipe didn't specify. And added a bit of allspice to the frosting -- like the AllSpice Cream Cheese Frosting recipe from this site. I liked this cake best after it had sat in the fridge a couple of days -- the cake was denser. The best part though was the browned/buttered nuts in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juicyfruit007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
powerfully sweet, but good for something different. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Copan, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Hereford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Everyone LOVES this recipe! It alwasy comes out perfectly. May suggest slightly undercook by 1-2 minutes. Great for kids too...the cake itself is not overly sweet, and does not need icing, although is does taste yummy either way. Simple directions, basically...a no fail delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
I made just the cake and it was easy and so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
I was disapointed in this recipe. I was expecting a light cake, but the texture was more like that of banana bread. It didn't raise very much. The frosting recipe was wonderful and I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Made this for my Daughter's 3rd Birthday. It was a huge hit. Everyone loved it. Did make one change. I didn't make the frosting and used Frech vanilla coolwhip made it a bit lighter and not so sweet. Make this cake the day before and keep it in the fridge. Better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
The cake is great. The frosting is great. But together, the frosting overpowers the cake (too sweet). If I ever made them again, I'd make them separately, maybe just dusting the cake with powdered sugar or even leaving it plain. Chunky applesauce would be tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States