Never Fail Applesauce Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
This is a very good cake, especially the cooked pecans in the frosting. My husband raved about it. I will be making this on a regular basis. The recipe will have a place on my refrigerator for quick reference. Thanks soooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
This was a very flavorful and tasty cake. I would definitely make it again. However, my cooking time differed drastically from the recipe. My cake was done in 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
I forgot to add to my previous review - I omitted the nuts in the cake and added instead organic raisins soaked in rum for 24 hours. I also used maple frosting (confectioners sugar frosting with mostly cream cheese, a little bit of butter, a dab of milk and some maple flavoring.) A delicious combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
Moist and delicious cake. Last time I tossed in there a bag of dried fruit and turned into a beautiful fruitcake. My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
My whole family enjoyed it. Very easy to make. I also left out the nuts since my children don't like in the foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Harlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
this was a very good, very moist cake. tastes better the second day. i used almond extract in my frosting and it worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
This was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
WONDERFUL!! Quick, easy, moist and delicious. I cut the recipe in half -cooking for one- and used an 8" sq pan, baked for 40 min, but next time I'll probably use the full recipe and freeze half. I used a simple vanilla glaze and spread over a still warm cake. Even had some for breakfast this morning- after all it does contain fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
Excellent cake; goes great with black tea. I added in more walnuts than called for and used apricot-apple sauce. It's delectable, it's delicious, it's de-limit, it's de-lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
This is the greatest applesauce cake I have ever tried. I am passing this one on to my daughters-in-law!!!! A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States