Never Fail Applesauce Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This is a great recipe because it's easy AND it's good! I always cut the amount of sugar in cakes, and cut this to 1 cup sugar only and it was fine (unless you have a very sweet tooth). I made it first with too much applesauce (to finish the jar I had), and it came out way too dense although my children loved it. When I made it a second time with the right amount of applesauce, the consistency was pefect. I also sprinkled the top with a sugar and cinnamon mixture before it baked and it made the cake look nice without any frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
WONDERFUL!! Quick, easy, moist and delicious. I cut the recipe in half -cooking for one- and used an 8" sq pan, baked for 40 min, but next time I'll probably use the full recipe and freeze half. I used a simple vanilla glaze and spread over a still warm cake. Even had some for breakfast this morning- after all it does contain fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Everyone LOVES this recipe! It alwasy comes out perfectly. May suggest slightly undercook by 1-2 minutes. Great for kids too...the cake itself is not overly sweet, and does not need icing, although is does taste yummy either way. Simple directions, basically...a no fail delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
I forgot to add to my previous review - I omitted the nuts in the cake and added instead organic raisins soaked in rum for 24 hours. I also used maple frosting (confectioners sugar frosting with mostly cream cheese, a little bit of butter, a dab of milk and some maple flavoring.) A delicious combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MORUPE
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Very moist and tasty. Instead of using a 9 x 13 pan, I filled 6 individual bundt pans plus 6 cupcakes and baked for about 20 minutes (till toothpick came out clean). I served this on Thanksgiving. See the photo of how the little cakes were decorated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MORUPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Very good cake. We liked the flavor of the cake and the nuts in the frosting. But the frosting was a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
This was a very flavorful and tasty cake. I would definitely make it again. However, my cooking time differed drastically from the recipe. My cake was done in 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This cake is moist and delicious - a complete crowd pleaser. I had to leave out the walnuts because I can't eat them and was going to substitute pecans but realized I had none, so that will be my next attempt at this recipe. The only thing I changed besides that was to add just a bit of nutmeg because it just seemed to be begging to be in there! Excellent recipe, a winner all the way. This one is definitely going into the family recipe album!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brule, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
This was pretty good and it is very easy to make...my daughter and boyfriend made this cake (under my supervision) with good results. My daughter really liked this cake. However, I did omit the pecans when making the frosting as the walnuts in the cake were enough "nuts" for us. Thanks Glenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This cake has great flavor and texture. Very moist and delicious. However, a cream cheese frosting would, in my opinion, be too overwhelming. Instead, I used a simple caramel glaze (1/2 c. butter, 1/2 c. light brown sugar, 1 tbsp. milk or cream; bring to boil over medium heat then glaze cake). Everyone loved this cake with the caramel glaze. In the future, since I omitted the pecan cream cheese frosting, I would add more walnuts to the cake itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States