Never Fail Applesauce Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
The flavor was outstanding. I made the cake in 2 9" pans, for a layer cake. The next time, I think I'd make 3 8" layers, as the cake went over the edges of the pans, but the flavor was out of this world. (I adjusted the baking time to 25 minutes, with my convection oven.) As another reviewer did, I omitted the nuts, and added a bit of maple syrup to the frosting. Yummy and a nice addition to our Thanksgiving meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REENTHEQUEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I used pear "sauce" instead of applesauce -- I had been canning pears earlier in the day. I subbed walnuts for pecans, peach yogurt for buttermilk and nutmeg for allspice. (Sometimes you gotta use what you got!) It turned out delicious. I'll make it into a layer cake next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This applesauce spice cake is delicious. We have apple trees in our yard and I make applesauce every year. The only thing I changed was the sugar. I put 1 cup white and 3/4 cup brown sugar. I also made muffins out of the batter. This one is definitely going into my recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
This cake as written for us was too heavy and I followed the recipe exactly. BUT, made with cake flour (which means about 2 tbps. extra flour per cup) it is a much lighter cake and very very moist. Then I would rate it with 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Substituted a little brown sugar and added a diced apple to keep it moist. This is a dangerous cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
This recipe was very good. We used a sheet pan and cooked for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This cake is very moist. I made a pan and brought it into work. I thought maybe half the cake would be gone by the end of the day. The whole cake was gone in 25 minutes. People were coming back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I found the homemade cake recipe a bit too much. I wanted a less heavy cake. So, I made the following changes: I changed the homemade cake recipe to a yellow butter cake mix with pudding in the mix. I also changed the spices, decreasing the cloves to 1/4 teaspoon and adding 1/4 teaspoon of ginger. I eliminated the buttermilk and added 1/4 cup of 2% milk and 3 eggs instead of 2. Absolutely delicious!! A very moist and substantial cake. One that carries the cream cheese frosting with no problem
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Accidentally rated/reviewed this recipe. Please ignore, I meant to rate a different one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
Delicious! Just finished a piece and thought I'd go review it. I followed the recipe pretty much exactly as written, except substituted walnuts for pecans throughout. Also used unsweetened applesauce, since the recipe didn't specify. And added a bit of allspice to the frosting -- like the AllSpice Cream Cheese Frosting recipe from this site. I liked this cake best after it had sat in the fridge a couple of days -- the cake was denser. The best part though was the browned/buttered nuts in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juicyfruit007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States