Never Fail Applesauce Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This cake was awesome! I've made it twice now and it turned out perfectly both times. The second time I burned the pecans so had to leave them out of the frosting, and it was still yummy! I'm also vegetarian, so I replaced the eggs with an egg replacer product, and it still rose wonderfully. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This was a real family hit! It was easy, and turned out very moist. I followed the recipe exactly, until it came to the frosting. I found I only needed 1/2 the amount of frosting, and omitted the butter and nuts. It was still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This is a great recipe because it's easy AND it's good! I always cut the amount of sugar in cakes, and cut this to 1 cup sugar only and it was fine (unless you have a very sweet tooth). I made it first with too much applesauce (to finish the jar I had), and it came out way too dense although my children loved it. When I made it a second time with the right amount of applesauce, the consistency was pefect. I also sprinkled the top with a sugar and cinnamon mixture before it baked and it made the cake look nice without any frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MORUPE
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Very moist and tasty. Instead of using a 9 x 13 pan, I filled 6 individual bundt pans plus 6 cupcakes and baked for about 20 minutes (till toothpick came out clean). I served this on Thanksgiving. See the photo of how the little cakes were decorated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MORUPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
The flavor was outstanding. I made the cake in 2 9" pans, for a layer cake. The next time, I think I'd make 3 8" layers, as the cake went over the edges of the pans, but the flavor was out of this world. (I adjusted the baking time to 25 minutes, with my convection oven.) As another reviewer did, I omitted the nuts, and added a bit of maple syrup to the frosting. Yummy and a nice addition to our Thanksgiving meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REENTHEQUEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I used pear "sauce" instead of applesauce -- I had been canning pears earlier in the day. I subbed walnuts for pecans, peach yogurt for buttermilk and nutmeg for allspice. (Sometimes you gotta use what you got!) It turned out delicious. I'll make it into a layer cake next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This applesauce spice cake is delicious. We have apple trees in our yard and I make applesauce every year. The only thing I changed was the sugar. I put 1 cup white and 3/4 cup brown sugar. I also made muffins out of the batter. This one is definitely going into my recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
This cake as written for us was too heavy and I followed the recipe exactly. BUT, made with cake flour (which means about 2 tbps. extra flour per cup) it is a much lighter cake and very very moist. Then I would rate it with 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Substituted a little brown sugar and added a diced apple to keep it moist. This is a dangerous cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
This recipe was very good. We used a sheet pan and cooked for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States