Never Fail Applesauce Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Very moist cake. I reduced the amount of sugar to 1 1/2 cups....would reduce to 1 cup next time. Also reduced the amount of powdered sugar to 3 cups. Was still really sweet. Would reduce that next time too. I did not put nuts in the the frosting instead I chopped them fine and sprinkled on top and sides for decorative effect. Turned out pretty. Everyone enjoyed the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bernardsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Absolutely delicious. Omitted the cloves (don't care for them) and used cinnamon flavored applesauce. Got rave reviews from taking to a birthday party last night. Will definitely make many more times. My oven took 40 minutes--it was perfectly done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
A kid's review Me and my mom made this cake and it was simply delicious. We did not use or make the frosting though, but it was fantastic anyways. It smells delectible, and is a moist treat. I found this cake a pleasure to eat. Despite what other reviews might say, this is a fine cake, that required no changes to anything. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Very moist cake. Mine did take 45 minutes to bake. I omitted nuts, and rather than making the frosting I just bought a can of cream cheese icing and added about 1/2tsp maple extract. Went nicely with the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I like this cake recipe except that the baking time is too long. I think if I make it again I will check it at 30 minutes. Mine came out too dry at 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This cake was wonderful. It had the texture of a banana bread maybe, but its flavor was great. I did leave out the nuts because my husband cannot eat them, but I think it would have been even better with them. I made it yesterday, and put it in the fridge to cool it quickly so I could frost it before I went to bed. The surface was cooled but the middle was still warm. It was great warm, and then today it was even better. I think next time I may even up the spices a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockwood, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lancing, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This is the best applesauce spice cake. I used milk instead of buttermilk and i didn't have cloves or allspice so I used 1 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice. It is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Campbell, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
So, so good. Substituted 3 bananas (put thru food processor) for the apple sauce, and 1/4 tsp mace for the allspice. Made into cupcakes and baked for 25 min. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRI122

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This is a pretty good cake. The cake itself turned out a little dry, but I think this was attributed to the fact that I baked it in a dark pan. I took it out after 40 min., but could probably have taken it out even sooner. I have not tasted it with frosting yet, as I made them to put in the freezer for a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
An easy and mildly flavored applesauce cake which is even better the second day. As my husband can't eat nuts, I substituted raisins and it turned out perfectly. I used a thick butter vanilla glaze instead of the frosting. Thank for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States