Never Fail Applesauce Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
wonderful!! In place of cinnamon, cloves,and alspice I used 1 1/2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillie Crane

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
All I have to say is "Wow!" I loved this cake! I, too, had buttermilk and cream cheese that I wanted to use (and a huge jar of applesauce). I made some slight changes. I substituted 1 cup of whole wheat pastry flavor (always do). It's really good quality flour, so you can't even tell. I also cut and shredded one granny smith apple and added it to the batter. I omitted the nuts/melted butter in the icing and just made cream cheese frosting. I didn't quite put 4 cups of sugar either. Oh, and mine didn't take 50 mins either, but I never bake anything for as long as recipes state. My oven is very hot, so it always takes less time. This recipe is a keeper. It is absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I used this cake in our Oktoberfest Baking Contest! I won second place!!!! I changed using chuncky applesauce and used my own cream cheese icing recipe. Also I made this into a layer cake and in the middle spread caramel ice cream topping. It was SUPER YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Fantastic! I loved this cake and will be making it again. At first I was not so sure about using APPLESAUCE, but trust me, this is a FANTASTIC cake! I have no suggestions as how to change this recipe, because it is so good, no changes are nessesary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This recipe is fantastic and was a big hit! I picked it because I needed to use up some leftover buttermilk and I just happen to have applesauce at home as well. The only thing I changed was instead of 1 1/2 cups of white sugar, I did 1 cup of sugar and then a 1/2 cup of soft dark brown sugar. Instead of all of the individually listed spices I just used pumpkin pie spice and a little extra ground cinnamon. Just minor changes - nothing radical - and again, this is a fantastic cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Linz, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kris
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was a great cake! It was very moist. I did up the cinnamon to a full teaspoon and I also added 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg because I wanted it to be more spice than applesauce flavor. I didn't use the recipe for frosting because I already have a cream cheese frosting that I love (found on this site) that is not overly sweet. I thought this one called for way too much sugar, so I didn't even try it. The flavor of this cake was outstanding! Like a nice carrot cake, minus the carrots and raisins. Oh! One other slight change. I subbed 3/4 cup of the sugar for Splenda. I did think that the order of mixing the cake was very odd, but it turned out just fine. The butter was very hard to encorporate as written. Next time, I'll mix traditionally, creaming the butter with the sugar, then adding eggs, etc... All in all, this recipe (albiet a tad quirky) is a keeper and I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Good spice cake. My son has requested it for his birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNHARJE

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
My dad loves Spice cake and this was hit for everyone. Made exactly stated and was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeniece

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I would give this 4.5 stars. I used cinnamon applesauce and a little less sugar. Nice texture, and frosting topped it off nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I was looking for something that I could use for a Pumpkin/Mousse Spice cake. So instead of using apple sauce, I used pumpkin puree, and 1 3/4 tsp of pumpkin pie spice, but everything else was the same (didn't add nuts or raisins...Will next time). The cake had an awesome flavor but was quite dense. I had to use a 9x13 pan (couldn't find my round pans), when cooled, cut in half, and then cut the others to make a layer cake with a pumpkin mousse in between, and topped with a cream cheese icing and then toasted pecans. This was awesome!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States