Never Fail Applesauce Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Yum! Great tasting spice cake - easy, too. Will be making this one again, I know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This is delicious! Sooo moist! I did add more of each spice and substituted half the sugar with Splenda and 1/4 with turbinado sugar. Didn't make the frosting. I feel that it doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Definitly needs less sugar if using applesauce with sugar already in it. I baked this at 7,000 feet elevation and it turned out perfectly! (I used 1 cup sugar and a little extra flour) I loved the frosting--but used less sugar there also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweets
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Unbelievable!!! I've made many cakes and this one is very quick, easy and delicious! My boyfriend is a real critic when it comes to deserts, but he loved this cake. I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't quite have enough applesauce so I topped it off with some plain yogurt instead... I finished the cake with some vanilla butter cream frosting and it was perfect!!! Thank you... I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Delicious cake. I don't like cream cheese frosting so I topped this with the Scrumptious Penuche Frosting on this site and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
A delicious cake! Moist, nice spice combination, and the crunchy nuts are a wonderul addition. I left out the suggested topping and applied regular cream cheese frosting. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn-Faith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill Valley, California, USA
Living In: Vienna, Wien, Austria
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was an excellent cake. I used homemade applebutter in place of the applesauce and halved the spices. Other than that this was made exactly as stated and it was moist, spicy, not too sweet and kept really well. The icing could probably be cut in half and still have been enough for the cake since it was rather sweet and I still had some left over with the amount in the recipe, but that was just preference. Easy enough to fix, though. We used it as a spread on some banana bread and it was another perfect match! Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RioChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saxtons River, Vermont, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
very good cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne from IL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Following the other reviews, I cit the sugar to 1 C white and 1/4 C dark brown. I replaced the spices with 1 1/2 t Penzey's Cake Spice and used pureed pears instead of applesauce. I used pecans in the cake to match the frosting. I also cut the powdered sugar to 3 cups for the frosting. The cake only took 40 minutes to bake to perfection. The entire family RAVED over it. I also took some to the elderly ladies next door who thought it was the best thing since sliced bread! Wonderful recipe. It will be used again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixi M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
wonderful!! In place of cinnamon, cloves,and alspice I used 1 1/2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillie Crane

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States