Never Fail Applesauce Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Pretty good but wayyy too much sugar. Even my Mom, a self-confessed sugar addict, deemed it a bit too sweet. I skipped the frosting and added raisins to the batter instead of walnuts. It's a nice moist cake, and very attractive too, especially when baked in a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I loved the taste of this cake. It had just the right amount of spice and the frosting was out of this world! The only negative was that my cake did not rise, it got to be only the height of a bar-type cake. Did anyone else have this problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Steeb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hingham, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This was good. I replaced half the white flour with whole wheat pastry flour (you'd NEVER know). I cut down the sugar in the cake by 3/4 cup, and cut the frosting sugar in half. It was still plenty sweet for our taste. I was too lazy to put the pecans in the frosting but I'm sure that would have been good. Next time I'm going to slightly increase all of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Delish. I wasn't sure at first... it was a little dry. But once it sat for a few hours with the icing, everything softened up and it was really moist and delicious. A keeper since I know I have a ton more applesauce to get rid of! I put raisins in mine instead of nuts, so it was very similar to carrot cake. I also used sweetened applesauce because that's what I had. The cake wasn't too sweet even with the additional sweetener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Yum! Great tasting spice cake - easy, too. Will be making this one again, I know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This is delicious! Sooo moist! I did add more of each spice and substituted half the sugar with Splenda and 1/4 with turbinado sugar. Didn't make the frosting. I feel that it doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Definitly needs less sugar if using applesauce with sugar already in it. I baked this at 7,000 feet elevation and it turned out perfectly! (I used 1 cup sugar and a little extra flour) I loved the frosting--but used less sugar there also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweets
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Unbelievable!!! I've made many cakes and this one is very quick, easy and delicious! My boyfriend is a real critic when it comes to deserts, but he loved this cake. I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't quite have enough applesauce so I topped it off with some plain yogurt instead... I finished the cake with some vanilla butter cream frosting and it was perfect!!! Thank you... I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Delicious cake. I don't like cream cheese frosting so I topped this with the Scrumptious Penuche Frosting on this site and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
A delicious cake! Moist, nice spice combination, and the crunchy nuts are a wonderul addition. I left out the suggested topping and applied regular cream cheese frosting. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn-Faith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill Valley, California, USA
Living In: Vienna, Wien, Austria

Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States