Never Fail Applesauce Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Good, moist. Good mix of spices. Excellent fall cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Too sweet for my tastes. The cream cheese frosting was a bit overpowering, too. Both those are really easy fixes, though. Next time I'll cut the sugar in half and use a vanilla frosting. This is a very nice recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CartoonJunkie33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Mmmmm... so soft and delicious. I skipped the frosting and it was STILL good! Had a group of high school kids make it and they did really well. Had them make a hazelnut caramel sauce to top it and that was delicious too! I recommend it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauseon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This recipe is WONDERFUL!!!! I made it for a birthday, and it was a huge success. Moist, flavorful, great texture, the works. This is going in my forever-file. My only changes - I took it out somewhere around 42 minutes instead of 50, and since I had to omit the nuts, I added 1 T. of butter of the frosting to make up for the lack of the butter pecans. Great job - thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Nice recipe--very tasty. I would recommend that you note the cooking time since my 1st attempt was not quite as moist as I would have liked. I will check mine after about 40 min. (for my oven) the next time I make it. Didn't put the pecans in the frosting, and don't even think I'll add frosting the next time. It really didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. G.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This is fantastic! It took quite a bit less time to bake than the recipe said, but I'm sure that had partly to do with using a glass baking dish. I only baked it for 35 minutes. I used whole wheat pastry flour, only used 1 1/4 cups sugar, and left out the nuts. No frosting. I'm taking it to my in-laws and am sure I'll get raves. One thing I will change next time is doubling the cinnamon, cloves and allspice. Yummy, moist and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARIANWEN1174

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This had a great flavor but was a little dry. I too cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I followed the recipe exact. I personally did not like the texture and taste, however, everyone one else that I served it to did. It was a little to moist. The frosting was a 5 star. I would use it on other cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This was a little more dense than I expected but everyone seemed to love it nonetheless! A good basic applesauce cake. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Awesome cake! I didn't use the nuts, because it was for my 2yr old b-day cake, great chioce. It was a hit from young to old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States