Never Fail Applesauce Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Oh my! So yummy! Slight variations I made were adding nutmeg, omitting allspice, melting the butter. Super delicious. Per suggestion I made a caramel glaze for the top and it was perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Living In: Payson, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I used the advice of some of those before me and used apple sauce with no added sugar and baked the cake for about 35-40 minutes... Turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Quick, easy and called for stuff I always have around. The best way to use all those quarts of applesauce from last fall. Moist and tender flake; the icing was lovely but not necessary to enjoy this wonderful treat. Even better refrigerated and enjoyed the next day. Recipe begs for add-ins like shredded carrots or zucchini. Y.U.M.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Ann White

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pima, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
The 2nd time I made this I used MELTED butter, IMO the method in the recipe makes a drier,coarser cake. I also cut the amount of sugar. Nice balance of spices, the cake is definitely better the day after baking to allow the flavors to blend. Can't comment on the frosting, I used my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This cake has great flavor and texture. Very moist and delicious. However, a cream cheese frosting would, in my opinion, be too overwhelming. Instead, I used a simple caramel glaze (1/2 c. butter, 1/2 c. light brown sugar, 1 tbsp. milk or cream; bring to boil over medium heat then glaze cake). Everyone loved this cake with the caramel glaze. In the future, since I omitted the pecan cream cheese frosting, I would add more walnuts to the cake itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I thought this cake was delicious, however, at first I thought it was a bit dry. After letting it sit for a few days it became more moist. I had read the same comment from another reviewer. I thought it had great flavor but I was not crazy about the nuts in the cake. I would leave them out next time. The icing is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA
Photo by Caroline
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This cake is moist and delicious - a complete crowd pleaser. I had to leave out the walnuts because I can't eat them and was going to substitute pecans but realized I had none, so that will be my next attempt at this recipe. The only thing I changed besides that was to add just a bit of nutmeg because it just seemed to be begging to be in there! Excellent recipe, a winner all the way. This one is definitely going into the family recipe album!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brule, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I made this recipe a couple of weeks ago without the nuts because I had intended to freeze it, and it still turned out wonderfully. My boyfriend took one bite, turned to me and said "Honey, this the best cake ever." Thank you Glenda. P.S. If it makes it to the freezer, it freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Cut sugar down to 1 cup. This cake is quick to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I made this into cupcakes and topped some with maple cream cheese frosting and some with caramel frosting. Both combinations were absolutely delicious. The cupcakes were moist and had just the right amount of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States