Never Fail Applesauce Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
moist and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Very good, everyone was happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I made this for my daughter's first birthday and it was wonderful! I left out the cloves, allspice and nuts, though I did put in a whole teaspoon of cinnamon. I also used homemade applesauce, which was not pureed but just mashed up with a potato masher. I used a fluffy white (7-minute) frosting recipe, but I think it would have been just about perfect with a cream-cheese frosting!!! The cake was delicious and moist and I will be making this again, and again and again! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Loved this cake! I used my homemade applesauce, added a pinch of nutmeg and raisins. With fall in the air it was a perfect dessert....thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Oh my! So yummy! Slight variations I made were adding nutmeg, omitting allspice, melting the butter. Super delicious. Per suggestion I made a caramel glaze for the top and it was perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne McCombie Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Living In: Payson, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I used the advice of some of those before me and used apple sauce with no added sugar and baked the cake for about 35-40 minutes... Turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Quick, easy and called for stuff I always have around. The best way to use all those quarts of applesauce from last fall. Moist and tender flake; the icing was lovely but not necessary to enjoy this wonderful treat. Even better refrigerated and enjoyed the next day. Recipe begs for add-ins like shredded carrots or zucchini. Y.U.M.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Ann White

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pima, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
The 2nd time I made this I used MELTED butter, IMO the method in the recipe makes a drier,coarser cake. I also cut the amount of sugar. Nice balance of spices, the cake is definitely better the day after baking to allow the flavors to blend. Can't comment on the frosting, I used my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This cake has great flavor and texture. Very moist and delicious. However, a cream cheese frosting would, in my opinion, be too overwhelming. Instead, I used a simple caramel glaze (1/2 c. butter, 1/2 c. light brown sugar, 1 tbsp. milk or cream; bring to boil over medium heat then glaze cake). Everyone loved this cake with the caramel glaze. In the future, since I omitted the pecan cream cheese frosting, I would add more walnuts to the cake itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I thought this cake was delicious, however, at first I thought it was a bit dry. After letting it sit for a few days it became more moist. I had read the same comment from another reviewer. I thought it had great flavor but I was not crazy about the nuts in the cake. I would leave them out next time. The icing is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States