Never Fail Applesauce Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I kept to the recipe only adding a teaspoon of vanilla and a half cup of organic raisins. I also used homemade applesauce. I made muffins out of this recipe (I skipped the frosting today, though next time I make this, I will try it) and I actually got 18 muffins out of one recipe. Moist and delicious. When I make this again, I would double the spices but honestly, that's a personal preference. Four and a half stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I made the rookie mistake of baking this in a too-small pan. However, made it again and this cake is perfect! I followed the recipe exactly but also tried another reviewer's suggestion by adding some rum soaked raisins. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I made this recipe for our employee/volunteer luncheon at the campground which my husband and I are volunteering. It was a huge hit. One of the guys said he never eats cake because he feels like he needs a gallon of coffee just to wash it down. He took some home with him. I didn't have any allspice so instead I add 1/4 tsp ginger and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. I also did not add the nuts because of nut allergies. However, as we were eating I thought that boiled raisins would be a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I don't like to rate a recipe having changed any part of it, but sometimes I don't have the perfect ingredients on hand.......I put no nuts in the icing and had no ground cloves. No sugar added applesauce is all I had on hand. Baked for only 30 min on convection in a 13x9 glass pan. All else the same as stated. Seems like the icing may be way too sweet, but it works great in the end! Absolutely wonderful recipe even with my stated changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brazil, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This cake did not rise much baked half the time I went by the instructions at 350 oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This was easy and delicious, but I did add a bit more of each spice - love the clove/cinnamon. The cake was very moist, flavorful and kept well. Will definitely make again. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Best spice cake I've ever made, so moist and delicious! My family doesn't care for frosting so I didn't frost it. Also cut back the sugar just a bit and it wasn't missed at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by semi-sweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Great moist cake will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I Love Love Love this cake and icing.. I have made it several times. Can't say enough about it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States