Never Fail Applesauce Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This was easy and delicious, but I did add a bit more of each spice - love the clove/cinnamon. The cake was very moist, flavorful and kept well. Will definitely make again. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Best spice cake I've ever made, so moist and delicious! My family doesn't care for frosting so I didn't frost it. Also cut back the sugar just a bit and it wasn't missed at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by semi-sweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Great moist cake will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I Love Love Love this cake and icing.. I have made it several times. Can't say enough about it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I made this cake for my sisters birthday. It was delicious, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Very good. This is definitely a spice cake; if you want more of an applesauce flavor, you might want to cut back on the spices in it. It is, however, rather lovely as is and is awesome with the frosting as well, which reminds me a bit of German Chocolate frosting. I love the pecans and the flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Easy great cake recipe. I make this A LOT for parties, teachers, school functions. Can't comment on the icing because I never stray from Paula Deen's cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This cake was delicious! I did make a few changes. I used part brown sugar instead of all white sugar, used oil instead of butter, and also I also frosted with a brown sugar frosting. Made the frosting by bringing 2 cups brown sugar, 1 cup heavy cream, 2 tbsp butter, and 1/4 tsp cream of tartar to boil. Let boil for 2 minutes. Let cool for an hour, then using a mixer, add in another the rest of the stick of butter you cut the 2 tbsp from, plus a second stick. Refrigerate the frosting to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Brought this into work. Lots of complaints about blown diets, but they all want me to bring it in again. Had four people separately tell that it is the best cake they've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakhurst, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States