Never-Ever-Fail Meringue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Absolutely failed for me. I followed the recipe exactly and beat it for at least 20 minutes and never got past the soupy stage. Finally through it out and used a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I managed to mess up right from the start! I had four egg whites and of course the last one had a broken yolk. This meringue still delivered a terrific topping to Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie by Emile S. on this site. Cannot wait to make this again, thanks Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I love meringue and have been making it all my life. When I read this I thought the idea of making the thickener and adding it sounded like a really interesting idea. Boy, was I ever disappointed. The texture of this was just way too fluffy. Meringue should have a crispiness to it that this was sorely lacking. I'll go back to my original recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gayle Campbell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
haven't tried it yet got the cornstarch mixture cooling I am making a butterscotch pie homemade my great grandmothers recipe but every time I put meringue on it and bake it pulls away from the sides this to me looks like a great recipe will comment after it has finished
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Followed this recipe and topped a the banana cream pie I found on this site. Never maid meringue like this but it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by izzymae30
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This is the recipe you wished you had when yours failed. It is perfect. Fluffy and not too sweet. when I make banana cream pie for a crowd, I make it rectangle. More pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzymae30

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Sorry did not work for me no stiff enough. Don't know what went wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This tasted very good but I did not care for the texture of it at all. It is a much heavier meringue than most I have made. It sealed very nicely and did not have the weeping but would try another one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
At altitudes above 2500 feet whip the whites to soft peaks, not stiff peaks. But above 10,000 feet you have to prepare it like 7 minute icing cooking over a double boiler and whipping to stiff peaks. Putting the stabilizing gel into the whites when foamy does better at higher altitudes rather than putting it in at the end after the peaks are stiff. Eggs separate best when cold but the whites MUST be at room temp to whip properly. Cold egg whites won't stiffen properly as they cannot get enough air cells whipped into them when cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I am not sure why people like this recipe. I followed the directions exactly and my meringue was perfect right up until I put the cornstarch mixture in it and then it became all limp and would not beat to stiff peaks. I think I will just stick to the proven meringue in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Meringue Bones and Ghosts

See how to make Halloween ghosts and graveyard bones out of meringue.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States