Never Enough Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
The original recipe called for a jar of Kraft Bacon cheese spread. It comes in a small, 5 oz. glass jar (with a metal pry-off lid). It also comes in other flavors. Old English is the one I use when I can't find the Bacon (as a last resort Velveeta-type)and add 1 to 2 T. finely minced cooked bacon. Obviously, the bigger the chop, the less bacon there will be in 1 T. This recipe doubles or triples nicely. I have also doubled the amount of green beans without changing the other ingredients and this works well too in a pinch. Hope this helps ~Deb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Skiatook, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bonham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
Wow! This is such a nice break from the same ol' green bean casserole. The bacon pieces and cheese really make this taste great. I'm sure it will be a hit at Thanksgiving! I wasn't able to find the bacon/cheese spread but used the Kraft Old English spread...it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
I made this recipe for part of a New Years dinner and it was well received! The cheese and extra mushrooms were the perfect touch! I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINAMARIE1971

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I tried this just to change the regular ho-hum thanksgiving menu. It was great! I was a little worried that the cheese and bacon would give the dish a weird flavor, but they did not. My husband kept reminding me that I need to keep the recipe, because he enjoyed it so much. I will definately be making this dish again, holiday or not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
A nice change to the ordinary green bean casserole. Tastes very good, but not very good for the waist line. Something I will splurge on at Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEYARNSIX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Byhalia, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Yum! I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. I might put slightly less cheese and slightly more bacon in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
This was fantastic! I used three cans of grean beans and a jar of cheese con queso. It added a little more zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
YUM! I made this for a large dinner party and it was everyone's favorite. I used the fake bacon bits, though, and it still came out wonderful (although the bacon flavor was just a bit too strong). This will become one of my regular dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheGatewoods

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
This was wery good,I added a can of water chestnuts and used french style green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Great twist on an old classic! My husband loved it (especially the mushrooms). I used a 5 oz jar of Kraft Old English (sharp cheddar cheese)...you can find this right by the velveeta. Yummy! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States