Never Enough Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I love the traditional green bean casserole, and I love mushrooms. However, the combination left something to be desired. My children didn't like it at all; the 17, 19 & 22 yr. old children said I should stick with the usual (the recipe on Durkee's can). It was something different, though, and I like to try different things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Made this at Thanksgiving and everyone loved it, even people who don't like green bean casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This is no doubt the easiest & Best green bean casserole dish cooked with ready made items. I used chicken soup(didn't have mushroom) & 8oz of fresh mushrooms (cooked down to remove liquid). It is soooo tastey! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Really great recipe! Everyone loved it and I plan on making it again for my next holiday meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving in place of traditional green been casserole. I left out the processed cheese and used a can of Old English Cheese Spread instead. I also used real bacon instead of bacon bits and used ALOT more than called for. I stirred in 1 small can of French's onions into the dish. I put all ingredients in the crock pot on low for 4 hours stirring occasionally. Easy and deish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
"Never enough" is absolutely true, I made a double batch for Thanksgiving dinner and it was gone in a flash! I took the reviewers' suggestions of using Old English cheese and it turned out great (I was a little hesitant about putting cheese in green bean casserole at all). Excellent dish, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Excellent! This is a nice twist on a traditional casserole! No leftovers! I used fresh mushrooms and didn't change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Wonderfully delicious! Just a kicked up version of the traditional green bean casserole... I do not eat mushrooms and my husband turned his nose up when he realized I was putting them in the casserole... but he still ate it(and thought it was wonderful)!! I just chopped the mushrooms up pretty good before adding them so that nobody would "freak out" over a large chunk of mushroom! Like I said... I do not normally eat them but they added such good flavor along with the addition of Velveeta and bacon! YUM!! Definitely a new Thanksgiving staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I didn't have an oven, so I made this recipe on the stove-top, letting it heat & thicken for about 30 minutes. It turned out great. I added the fried onions just before serving. A few modifications: I left out the bacon bits but added half an onion and fresh mushrooms. I also used fresh green beans, and the fresh taste was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I made both the traditional and this recipe side by side and today (day after) there's mostly the traditional one left over... so with that being said, I gave it 4 stars. The cheese was different, but the bacon made it a winner!! Update: Made it again this year and it was/is oh- so-yummy! I use real bacon and less processed cheese than called for (I doubled the recipe and used 4 oz). Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States