Never Enough Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I'm sad that these turned out poorly for me. I decided to put them together the night before and bake them on Thanksgiving and that may have been their downfall, so DON'T DO THAT. On Wednesday, when I mixed everything together (I used fresh steamed green beans instead of canned) and put it into the casserole, it was absolutely delicious. But after baking them the next day, it's like everything melted and slid off the beans - they were watery. I also made the mistake of adding too much bacon - seemed like it needed more when I mixed everything but by the time they were baked it was too strong. I'm giving this a 3 star rating because I don't think it's the recipe's fault - could be my make-ahead strategy that was flawed. I may try this one again some day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I have never been a big fan of Green Bean Casserole but hubby wanted it for Thanksgiving. So I thought I would try this, the addition of bacon sounded like it would be good. I used frozen green beans (14oz vs 12oz) & freshly chopped mushrooms instead of the canned, but otherwise I left the recipe as is. It was HEAVENLY. Not mushy at all! I am now a green bean casserole fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was the best green bean casserole I've ever made. Definitely better than the old standard on the side of the can of french fried onions! I did use fresh mushrooms and real bacon and I think it was the right thing to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
wonderful recipe. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This is my favorite green bean casserole recipe! The cheese adds so much creaminess and flavor to the dish, and I actually haven't met anyone who hasn't liked this version of GBC! Also great the next day reheated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
My husband and I loved this recipe. I did substitute shredded sharp cheddar cheese for the processed cheese which I think gave it a bit of a better cheese flavor. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Litchfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Everyone at Thanksgiving loved this variation on green bean casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. DeCanio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
It sounded great but I wish I hadn't added the cheese. I double checked my French's traditional recipe and this one, then re-checked the size of the cans of beans. All were the same amounts so I'm not sure what caused this casserole to be so darned soupy. I couldn't find the beans in all the mess! Our plates were left with a pile of the soup mixture as everybody had to pick through it to find the beans. Way to soupy. Could have used at least another can of beans. I won't make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prttimecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
this was the only thing that was completely gone after dinner - no leftovers! we didn't have any "cheese food" for the recipe like Velveeta, but used american cheese slices (which were also labeled cheese food)and that worked out fine. next time i will double the recipe to have leftovers!! soo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was delicious! I used Kraft American cheese slices (one slice per can of green beans) because I forgot to get some Velveeta, but it seemed to work just fine. Everyone gobbled it up! The bacon is a really nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States