Never Enough Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Made this dish for Thanksgiving, it was good, but it just seemed like it was lacking a little flavor. I think next time I might add a little sourcream. Other than that these were good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindiZR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Roy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Loved it. Yum ;) I doubled recipe but only used one small can of mushrooms and I used 2 cans of the Kraft cheese w/ bacon I think thats what really gave it a good twist! My in-laws who dont normally do green bean casserole enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This is fabulous! I'm not a fan of the traditional recipe and this is just what I was looking for. I used about 5 strips of bacon more cheese and mushrooms and added some of the onions into the mix. We have declared this our new green bean casserole recipe!!! Everyone who tried it was interested in the recipe. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I just didn't think this recipes was that great. It was too creamy; I tripled the recipes though. I also used off brand french-cute green beans...may have contributed. I will try it some other time, maybe, and hopefully it will be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: West Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Hmmm, well I don't know what went wrong but my dish turned out really thick. If I make this again I would add a little milk. The cream of mushroom flavor was all that I could taste. I have had this dish made by others and I loved it, that is why I gave it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
These were great. I sauteed 6 slices of bacon,[chopped] untill lightly browned, added a med. onion,[chopped] till it was wilted. Added two cans of chicken broth. Put about 2 lbs of fresh green beans in the pot. cooked untill they were done. {I like them a little over cooked}. After that was almost all the way cooked,I added 8ozs of fresh sliced mushrooms.Drain.Added four Tbls. of a cheese spread I had on hand with the cream of mushroom soup. Mixeded it all together normally. My oldest daughter had three helpings of it. My husband looked me in the eye and said "These are really good." I don't uaually get that with my regular "green bean casserole recipe." This will be the only one I'll be using from know on. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was a great recipe! Made for Thanksgiving and it was perfect, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Much better than the usual green bean casserole! I used french fried onions in as well as on top. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Thanks for this recipe. I added extra cooked, crumbled bacon because my son considers bacon to be a life-sustaining element :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I'm sad that these turned out poorly for me. I decided to put them together the night before and bake them on Thanksgiving and that may have been their downfall, so DON'T DO THAT. On Wednesday, when I mixed everything together (I used fresh steamed green beans instead of canned) and put it into the casserole, it was absolutely delicious. But after baking them the next day, it's like everything melted and slid off the beans - they were watery. I also made the mistake of adding too much bacon - seemed like it needed more when I mixed everything but by the time they were baked it was too strong. I'm giving this a 3 star rating because I don't think it's the recipe's fault - could be my make-ahead strategy that was flawed. I may try this one again some day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larra Van Dyke

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 181-190 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States