Never Enough Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I didnt think this tasted too far off from regular green bean casserole. I didnt really taste the bacon in it so you probably could leave it out or add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I never have been a fan of Green Bean Casserole, so imagine my dismay when I was nominated to make it for Thanksgiving dinner. I immediately went on a hunt for some way to make it better - when I came upon this recipe. Of course, I thought it was just "okay" (I'd rather have sauteed or steamed fresh green beans with onions and a little bacon), but the rest of the family thought it was good, and better than the Campbell's recipe. If I get nominated to make green bean casserole for future Thanksgiving gatherings, I will likely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Helen, Michigan, USA
Photo by violetgrr
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
made for thanksgiving- was pretty good, but I'm not the biggest fan of velveeta and i could detect its gooeyness in the sauce. I'll prob go back to my traditional recipe next time, but it was fun from something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetgrr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I did not care for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I used double the green beans and still felt it was a little too soupy. Good flavor, everyone seemed to like it. I think I just don't care for canned green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This is wonderful, I just made it for Turkey Day but I did the Old English cheese and added salt, pepper and onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
My husband was determined to find a better green bean casserole- and he did! Last year at Thanksgiving people were impressed. He used the old english cheese instead of Velveeta. It was a hit! We're making at again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving last year and it was the first dish gone. Everyone LOVES it and it will be my contribution again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
So I was making dinner for a friend who requested green bean casserole, which I usually HATE, so I found this recipe and made it for him...it was DELICIOUS; I should mention that I always double the green beans and soup, add garlic salt, pepper, and about 1/8 to 1/4 of a block of cream cheese along with the original amount of Velveeta, (the cream cheese is the secret ingredient that really makes this recipe amazing). I then mix some of the french fried onions throughout as well as top the casserole with them. Be sure to cover while baking to keep the onions from burning and then bake uncovered for ten or so minutes towards the end. My friend said that it was "better than his mom's green bean casserole," which would most likely be a HUGE compliment coming from anyone. :) Thank you for this recipe! Now my family and I will actually eat green bean casserole, but only when prepared like this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Made this for a potluck at work and it was a huge hit! Everyone commented on how tasty it was and there was even a discussion about how it made people feel at home... green bean casserole win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystaldanae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States