Neptune's Favorite Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I made this for Valentine's Day for my husband. I did cut down on the wine like other's suggested. We both liked it, but it just wasn't WOW good. Good enough, but I wouldn't make it to entertain with. It might be better with scallops or lobster, I used canned crab, maybe that was the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
Fabulous, homemade-tasting soup!! My husband and all attendees of our super bowl party loved it! Per the other reviews, I did half the amount of wine. Thanks so much for sharing the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
Everything tasted fine until I added the wine. I only added less than 1 cup but it still was too strong...one of my guests took one sip and didn't want any more. I had to force myself to finish my half bowl. This recipe should be changed to add only 1/2 cup of wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2003
I made this bisque using canned crabmeat, salad shrimp, and some canned clams. I also used half the amount of wine in the recipe. WOW!! It is a fabulous rich-tasting soup, like something from a fine seafood restaurant but so easy!! Tastes even better the nex day. Everyone loved it. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
Decent for a quick soup with a homemade taste. Rather salty, though, even after taking the advice of other reviewers and using low-sodium soups. I tried it as written and also with one can of a cream-based soup (usually cream of celery, just a personal preference) and a can of tomato soup. I might try it with a little tomato sauce rather than soup next time, to thin it out a bit -- a bisque should be creamy, as this is, but not quite as thick as mine came out. An interesting variation: use one small can each of crabmeat, clams, and baby (salad) shrimp for a seafood combination. If you're set on a crab soup, don't do it, but I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This is a wonderful dish and it is just so easy to prepare. The ingrediants are easily obtainable too even in this part of asia. My boyfriend loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
Very nice, my family enjoyed it. The only change I'd make is: I only added 1 cup of wine, and I had to let it cook down a bit, as the aroma nearly knocked me and my fiance over. Other than that, it was a wonderful New Year's day dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
This recipe is fantastic! I could not believe what a great tasting bisque this turned out to be because it was sooooo easy to make! The only thing I did a little differently, was to only put in 1 cup of wine and I did that only a couple minutes before serving. I will use this recipe very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Added 1/2 cup of wine along with the milk/cream and let that cook down a bit. Then added the other 1/2 cup of wine with the crab meat. It was perfect. This is a must keep in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I love this recipe! I have made it for my family several times and my in-laws request it over and over. They love it. I double the amount of crab and add Old Bay seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States