Neptune's Favorite Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
The first time I made this I made it with wine and I hated it. The second time I took out the wine completely, added a package of imitation crab (along with the recipe's can of crab meat), garnsihed with parsley, and served with toasted sourdough slices. YUM! It is quick, easy, and always turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
I used chicken broth instead of the wine which I do in all of my recipes. It had a good flavor to it but as another reviewer said, it kind of made me sick to my stomach. Won't be making this again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Great soup, I added 3/4 tsp old bay seasoning as suggested and 2 Tsp of tomatoe paste for a pink color for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hyde Park, New York, USA
Living In: Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I used only 1/2 cup of white wine and 1 1/2 cup milk and this recipe still came out runny! I just feel kind of sick to my stomach after eating it. It was so watery I felt like I was drinking a crab-flavored beverage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Really good and so quick. I sauteed a chopped shallot in a pat of butter to start, used skim milk to cut the fat, just a splash of half and half, and added dried tarragon and lots of freshly ground pepper. We all had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
I have made this twice within the last week, once for company and once for just us. Used imitation crab and no wine and different seasonings the second time and it was just as good---really easy to flavor the way you would like to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
It was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Wow! I made serveral modifications to this recipe, but it turned out DELICIOUS! While I was cooking the soup/milk/cream, I sauteed a medium sized yellow onion with 3 large cloves of garlic in about 2 TBSP of butter. I added the onions and garlic before the crabmeat. I also added a can of clams and a can of salad shrimp, though I'm sure the recipe would have been great as crab-only too. The recipe didn't really have any spices, so I also added about 1/2 teaspoon each of Old Bay Seasoning, fresh parsley and fresh dill from my garden. My husband and I LOVED this soup! Will make again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
You know, I posted this recipe ages ago. Sorry, folks, this is the first time I've read the reviews. Gosh darn, your're all right! It's 1/2 a cup of wine, or 1 cup if you're a fan. Use 1 1/2 cups if your feeling a bit feisty. Of course, that should still leave you plenty for the dinner table. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States