Neptune's Favorite Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This was a pretty good recipe and it's quick and easy to make. I used the lump crabmeat out the can and reduced the wine to 1/2 cup instead of 1 1/4 cup the second time around. I've made this recipe a good 7 times already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I had high hopes but unfortunately was not impressed by the recipe. I added old bay seasoning like other reviewers suggested and I still didn't feel there was enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I would look for a stronger seafood flavor in a seafood bisque, but it was very good. I used lobster tails, and it was rich and filling! Nice addition to a holiday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKblumchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Let me start by saying that I have *never* written a negative review on this site, but I feel one is in order here. I should have known better than to try a recipe that starts with condensed soups, but I was in a hurry. It was bland, tasted "unfresh" and my partner looked at me with a "REALLY???" expression on her face....even after I doctored it with garlic, shallots and Parmesan cheese. To the reviewer who said this tasted like "restaurant quality", they are right.....it tasted like a concentrated blob that someone added milk to. Sorry, but I will not make again or recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie Killian Connally

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This soup is a hit with my family and guests. Tastes like what you get in a restaurant. I substitute tomato soup for the celery soup. I also sometimes add a can of mini shrimp or whatever other seafood I may have on hand. Works great. A little sherry can be used as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I'm totally addicted to this easy bisque! Like others, I used only 3/4 c. the wine but I think I might use a whole cup next time. I added a few dashes of cayenne for a slight spice. I wanted my soup to be pink instead of white, so I added 8 oz of tomato sauce and it was fabulous. I think it made the flavor of the soup even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Wow! Pleasantly surprised with this one! I will admit I was a little nervous because I was using lump crab meat and fresh shrimp but needed something very quick and easy so I decided to give it a try. My entire family is sooo happy I did! I added a couple of things to this to make it go a little further (needed to feed 7) and it really worked out great. I added a can of low sodium cream of potato soup, and a 1/2 pound shrimp (just added the shrimp with the crab and followed directions.) To compensate for the extra soup, I added 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup heavy cream (used in place of light cream). I also followed other reviews and backed down on the wine. I used approx. 3/4 cup and it was perfect for us. Sprinkled a little Old Bay Seasoning and green onions right before serving and everyone raved & asked for seconds. This will be a regular here. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This is a very impressive soup for a hearty and quick meal! I had left over blue claw crab meat and shrimp from another recipe and didn't want it to go to waste. I made this in just minutes and it was delicious. Changes (to accomodate the contents of my fridge), I did use real crab meat and probably twice as much. I added approx 1/4 cup of chopped shrimp. I used 1 cup of light cream instead of 1 1/4 cups of milk. I like my bisque spicy so I added cayenne pepper and red curry to taste. Yum! My husband and guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
very easy to make. i added soup crackers for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was wonderful! I made it last night for my boyfriend and I, and it was delicious! I used crab and clams, and also cut the amount of wine in half. Plus I added some garlic powder and some paprika to give it a bit more zing, and it was soooo yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa_ang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States