Neptune's Favorite Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I had high hopes but unfortunately was not impressed by the recipe. I added old bay seasoning like other reviewers suggested and I still didn't feel there was enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I would look for a stronger seafood flavor in a seafood bisque, but it was very good. I used lobster tails, and it was rich and filling! Nice addition to a holiday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKblumchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Let me start by saying that I have *never* written a negative review on this site, but I feel one is in order here. I should have known better than to try a recipe that starts with condensed soups, but I was in a hurry. It was bland, tasted "unfresh" and my partner looked at me with a "REALLY???" expression on her face....even after I doctored it with garlic, shallots and Parmesan cheese. To the reviewer who said this tasted like "restaurant quality", they are right.....it tasted like a concentrated blob that someone added milk to. Sorry, but I will not make again or recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie Killian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This soup is a hit with my family and guests. Tastes like what you get in a restaurant. I substitute tomato soup for the celery soup. I also sometimes add a can of mini shrimp or whatever other seafood I may have on hand. Works great. A little sherry can be used as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I'm totally addicted to this easy bisque! Like others, I used only 3/4 c. the wine but I think I might use a whole cup next time. I added a few dashes of cayenne for a slight spice. I wanted my soup to be pink instead of white, so I added 8 oz of tomato sauce and it was fabulous. I think it made the flavor of the soup even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Wow! Pleasantly surprised with this one! I will admit I was a little nervous because I was using lump crab meat and fresh shrimp but needed something very quick and easy so I decided to give it a try. My entire family is sooo happy I did! I added a couple of things to this to make it go a little further (needed to feed 7) and it really worked out great. I added a can of low sodium cream of potato soup, and a 1/2 pound shrimp (just added the shrimp with the crab and followed directions.) To compensate for the extra soup, I added 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup heavy cream (used in place of light cream). I also followed other reviews and backed down on the wine. I used approx. 3/4 cup and it was perfect for us. Sprinkled a little Old Bay Seasoning and green onions right before serving and everyone raved & asked for seconds. This will be a regular here. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This is a very impressive soup for a hearty and quick meal! I had left over blue claw crab meat and shrimp from another recipe and didn't want it to go to waste. I made this in just minutes and it was delicious. Changes (to accomodate the contents of my fridge), I did use real crab meat and probably twice as much. I added approx 1/4 cup of chopped shrimp. I used 1 cup of light cream instead of 1 1/4 cups of milk. I like my bisque spicy so I added cayenne pepper and red curry to taste. Yum! My husband and guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
very easy to make. i added soup crackers for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was wonderful! I made it last night for my boyfriend and I, and it was delicious! I used crab and clams, and also cut the amount of wine in half. Plus I added some garlic powder and some paprika to give it a bit more zing, and it was soooo yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa_ang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
The first bite was good but by the fifth we had to throw it out. Disappointing and a true waste of good crab meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States