Neptune's Favor Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
amazing! i couldn't get enough! I did however use fresh spinach and I sauted it in home made garlic butter, delisous! On the other hand, I'm sure that it would be just as good if i just used frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by murmur

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
this is a tough one for me to rate as we really liked it in the end...but that involved a lot of changes...some minor and some major. First the minor changes. Instead of ll mayo I used half mayo and half sour cream. Personally I just think mayo is too sweet for my tastes. The mushrooms: I used fresh portebellos that I sauteed up...so they probably had more flavor than the canned ones. Spinach: I used 16 oz as I had a one pound bunch of fresh spinach from the market. I cooked and drained it. HERE is where the folks that got runny sauce probably ran into trouble. Spinach is mostly water/it shrinks a lot/a lot of water comes out of it with cooking. Weather using fresh or frozen...it's really important that it is drained well before putting it in a sauce....not just drip dry....you need to SQUEEZE the water out of it.....or else yes....it will make stuff watery. I left the boiled eggs out as I just personally hate hard boiled eggs. I used 3/4 cup of cheese since that is what I had on hand/just tossed it all in. The major thing to me is the spice. It ended up bland and I added more spices that majorly amped up the flavor: 2 tsp of Old Bay plus 1/8 tsp of red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
The dish never set up... it was like a lot of spinach in some white liquid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Made as written but used fresh mushrooms. Good basic recipe but a bit bland. Will add Old Bay seasoning or maybe Tony Chacheres next time I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This turns out as total mush, but tastes great over pasta or as a spread on toasted bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I was a little disapointed because I was expecting a "WOW". It wasn't great but wasn't bad. It was okay. I also used 1/2 fresh crab meat and 1/2 artificial. I have to say that I think the artificial tasted better in the recipe. I might try it again without the rosemary and maybe adding some cheese in the sauce and little more on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Very good! This recipe will definitely be made again in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
DELICIOUS! A real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I made this dish for my family. Everyone raved over it. The only thing I didn't do was put in the mushrooms. I added another 1/4c of Swiss cheese on the top. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This was great! I used two cans of crab meat. The only thing I might do different is to make it in individual dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mint Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States