Nell's Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
We love this salad. I used the original ramen flavor (only one pkg) and put about half of the seasoning into the salad. Also added cracked pepper. The noodles in the salad don't keep well overnight, so add them to only the portion you're going to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I cannot stop eating this stuff! I agree that you need to toast the almonds and noodles - only takes a few minutes but it makes all the difference! Great by itself but I also really love it with a pan-seared tuna steak (I add a bit of sesame oil to the salad dressing). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Very good & easy! Also less expensive than the broccoli slaw version. I used 1 bag of coleslaw blend instead of the cabbage. Olive oil is a bit too strong for this salad so I used canola oil. I also browned the ramen in a little of the oil. Finally I added 1 tablespoon of soy sauce to the dressing. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Alstott Postel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
it was soggy, tasteless & the noodles from the ramen stayed hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nana2elise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
we love this, good job mrs. doodle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOSTEELERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Lower Burrell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
We eat lots of this in the summer, especially. Most of the time I vary this recipe to make a complete meal by adding diced cooked chicken breast. Toasting the noodles and almonds in the microwave adds another dimension, as well as adding a little toasted almond oil to the amount of olive oil called for. You can also sub a bag of cole slaw for the head of cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Super fast and tasty recipe--nice change-up from typical cole slaw. This goes great with a variety of meals in all seasons, and seems to please even picky eaters. For a little extra color, I usually add some grated carrot and thawed frozen peas. Never hurts to get in a few extra veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
To really make this salad pop - toast the almonds and ramen slightly in a pan - gives it a nuttier smokey taste! and add toasted sesame seeds for even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This is close to my recipe, except we also add soya sauce, 4 TBSP low sodium Soya Sauce, 3 - 4 TBSP oil, 3 TBSP vinegar (try different kinds of vinegar), 1 TBSP (or less) sugar, 1/4 tsp pepper, instead of instant noodles and spice packet, I use chinese noodles and a low salt, msg free chicken bouillon, I also add pea shoots or bean sprouts, and pumkin and sunflower seeds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I get alot of compliments on this recipe. To take it to potluck/picnics, I mix the green onion in with the dressing mix in a pint jar. Combine the ramen noodles, almonds, and some toasted sunflower seeds in a zip lock bag. Then I mix it together when I get to the picnic. Add a couple slices of fried bacon bits to the top (or mix into the dressing ahead of time) is really good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Yuba Noodle Salad

See how to make a yuba noodle and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States